Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Wolves-of-Mercy-Falls-trilogy-Maggie-StiefvaterI read the Mercy Falls trilogy two years ago and picked it up again from the library because Sinner came out and I couldn’t remember everything that happened in the books. I especially couldn’t remember how it ended.

This review contains spoilers for those who haven’t read the Mercy Falls trilogy so stop reading now if you don’t want to know what happens.

These books follow Sam Roth as Grace Brisbane in Mercy Falls. Sam is a wolf that turns back into a human during the summer. Grace is human but has been obsessed with the wolves for years. Insert cheesy romance here.

At first I liked Sam but I’ve changed my mind about him after my second read of Forever. I get he was upset or whatever about Grace being a wolf but to just stop caring about everything because she’s gone is pathetic.

Grace’s life didn’t end when Sam shifted in the first book. She fought with Isabel, Jack and Olivia to find a ‘cure’ for all of them.

Sam ignores Cole, his seizure, Isabel and her warning about what her father’s doing like it’ll all fix itself.

Isabel said Sam is frustrating, I agree.

At least with Cole he tries. He has his own reason for helping find a cure but at least he’s doing something.

I seriously don’t think I could be in a relationship with Sam. He’s slow to act when things matter because he’s being all sad and pathetic. Grace didn’t die. He only starts to get his butt into gear at the last possible second which causes multiple deaths. Tom Culpeper didn’t help but if Sam hadn’t slowed everything down I don’t think there would’ve been that many deaths.

There’s my rant about Sam. One character basically ruined this trilogy for me. I probably won’t read them again and as much as I like Grace, Isabel, Cole and Rachel I won’t be buying the books either.

Onto Sinner now though. The only reason I reread this trilogy was so I would be refreshed for Sinner so all I have to say is Sinner better be good.

2 thoughts on “Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

