To Read Jar and Book Haul.

The other day I decided to make a To Read jar. I have way too many unread books on my 10943773_10155044182885018_1475013024260518602_nshelves and on my tablet. I have over 100 eBooks. I can’t decide where to start after I finish all the library books I’ve got so decided to do this. I made origami stars and every star has a book written inside it. Not sure how many stars there are but this isn’t a small jar. I’ve only put in stand alonesor the first book in a trilogy/series.

It took a lot longer than I thought it would. I basically lost hours of reading doing this but it’s so pretty and worth it in the end if I can get the amount of books I have unread down.

Question – Do you count eBooks as books you own? I keep getting new ones but don’t count them as a book haul because they’re not actual books.

Yesterday I got a book in the mail from Book Depository and went shopping and ended up coming home with three books. There was a sale on and I couldn’t resist.Β 10360209_10155048507085018_3420521475473879263_n

So the first book I got was The House of Hades. It’s the fourth book in Heroes of Olympus series which I’m loving.

I absolutely LOVE these covers. I can’t get them here so I have to order them all online. But that’s okay. I love getting book mail. The mail gets more exciting when there are books on the way.

The second book I bought was The Wit & Wisdom of Tryion Lannister by George R.R. Martin. I wasn’t interested in getting this when it first came out as it’s just quotes from the books and I have all of them but Tyrion is my favourite character in A Song of Ice and Fire series and it was only $10.

I’ve read The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas before but don’t own it. I’m kind of buying the books backwards. Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight were at my library and when Heir of Fire came out I bought it because I couldn’t wait for the library to get it in. I haven’t got the first two yet but I will.

The last book I got is I Was Here by Gayle Forman. I’ve read all of her books but this is the only one I own. I do have If I Stay and Where She Went as eBooks though. The cover on this book is really good. It reminded me of the movie tie in cover of If I Stay which I love.Β IMG_20150201_111501

Aren’t these covers beautiful?! Well, maybe not The Wit & Wisdom so much but the others yes!

I finished The Selection again yesterday by Kiera Cass. The first time I read it I couldn’t put it down and the same thing happened this time. I don’t know what it is about this book but I love it. It reminds me of The Bachelor which I can’t stand but this has a twist to it. I’ll be doing a review on this when I get up to it. I’m really behind on them. I keep forgetting so now I have three to do.

I’m going to start Wonder today by R.J. Palacio. I’ve heard good things about it so hopefully it lives up to it.

Happy reading,
A

7 thoughts on “To Read Jar and Book Haul.

  1. I like the idea of the to read jar! I personally feel that ebooks should be counted as books you own. I love the feel of a book but I love the convenience of an e-reader so I go back and forth with what medium I use. For the reading challenge, I have only been using actual books from my library. I have been enjoying my weekly trips to the library so I will probably do that for the whole challenge.

    Like

      • I’m on my fifth book of the challenge πŸ˜€ So far, all I have had are duds to just ok. This week I think I will be saying something different πŸ™‚ As far as in general, I’m pretty diverse as a reader but I feel you can never go wrong with Tolkien, George R.R. Martin, Jane Austen, Poe, Colleen McCullough or Star Trek novels. If you like non-fiction and have an interest in Rome – Adrian Goldsworthy can’t be beat.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad you found it. If you don’t know how to make the origami hearts just type that into youtube and there are great tutorials on there. It’s really easy. That’s if you’re planning on doing the hearts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

