Lucky by Alice Sebold.

‘A book by an author with the same initials as you.’ This was harder than I thought it would be. I did find an awesome book that sounded really good but my library didn’t have a copy so I couldn’t use that one.

Then I stumbled on Alice Sebold and I’ve already read The Lovely Bluckyones and Almost Moon (is that what it’s called?) and I didn’t really like the last. The Lovely Bones was okay though.

I didn’t really like this book though. I don’t know why. It was a really sad story and made me really angry in parts (the lineup) but I just couldn’t connect with it the same way I have with other books. I mean, I’m glad Alice got justice and that she’s strong enough to get through what she went through. Not a lot of people do. But there was just something about the book.

Some parts of the story I felt were unnecessary. Like in the afterword, all the stuff about drugs and drinking. I didn’t need to know all that.

The story was good. I think it would help people going through the same kind of thing but as I haven’t I think that could’ve been part of the problem. I mean, I can empathise but I can’t completely understand.

I sound really mean saying I didn’t like the book that much but I guess this kind of book is not everyone’s cup of tea.

Anyway, I don’t think I can say much more on the book. It’s a journey Alice went on after she was attacked.

4 thoughts on “Lucky by Alice Sebold.

  1. I also am using my local library for my books and had the same thing happen to me this week. My first choice wasn’t there either. I haven’t read anything by this author but have heard a lot about “The Lovely Bones” and it’s on my to read list. I’ll eventually get to it šŸ˜€ Sorry you didn’t like this one. My challenge choices have been mostly duds so far so I feel your pain LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

