Wonder by R.J. Palacio.

“You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse”

I’d seen this book on a lot of Instagram posts and booktube accounts last year so when I saw it on a shelf at the library I grabbed it. From what I’d read on goodreads I wasn’t sure I’d like it but I was surprised.

August is 10 and has been homeschooled by his mother. His parents want to send him to school for the first time because he’s getting to smart for his mother but also he doesn’t have any friends. They hope this will help him.

9780370332291-tpb-wonder

I think this is a book that every kid should read. I always recommend Harry Potter but Wonder is different. So many children are bullied for stupid reasons. Reasons that don’t even make sense or that the child can’t help.

Like August. August was born different. It’s really hard to explain because I don’t know the medical terms for what August has. I know he has a cleft palate but there’s more, much more than that. He was born with a facial abnormality. I’m not sure if there are people who have the same gene that August has that caused the abnormalities in his face but they must have a painful childhood with all the surgeries.

For all that August’s been through, he’s a great kid. Funny and mostly happy. A bit on the innocent side because his family have been protecting him from life and I get why. It sucks that he’d need to be protected from other kids his age. And not from physical attacks, but their words, which hurt a lot more and for much longer. That stupid rhyme “sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never hurt me” is such crap. Bones heal, the words hurled at you in childhood can leave scars that last a lifetime.

I underestimated this book. It’s amazing. I got the one with the extra Julian chapter at the end. I get where he was coming from but he was still horrible. And his mother, making excuses for him. She’s an adult and she was going after a little boy. I don’t like her. She’s a snob and think her sons perfect. Oh, and to get a restaurant to make a dish especially for her son because he doesn’t like the new way it’s made. Spoilt much. If that was my kid I’d have told him to get used to it or order something else. We can’t always have things the way we like it. Life isn’t easy. No wonder Julian expected everything to come easy to him, his mother is crazy and too willing to do what her son wants.

Anyway, I do recommend this book. It’s slow in parts but it’s a good story. Make sure you get the Julian chapter too. You’ll miss out otherwise.

Leave a Reply

