Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

I have heard so many good things about this book and trilogy. I don’t know if it was because I was in pain and couldn’t concentrate (I’d pulled a muscle in my leg and couldn’t get comfortable and had shooting pains up and down my leg) or the fact that after 150 pages, which took me two days to get to, I was still forcing myself to read it.

By the time I was actually interested in the story and not just picking it up because I needed to finish it, I was almost done. I got to the part where Karou got some information from a wishbone and that’s where I was like “okay this is getting good” and then Bam, over.Β DSB_final_6_1

I’m still not sure what I think of this book. I have the next one from the library and I will finish the trilogy. Hopefully they pick up. I’ve only stopped reading one series from asolute bordom and I don’t even know why I picked up the first book.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is about a “devil” and an “angel” and I wouldn’t call Karou a devil. That’s pretty harsh for what she actually is. AndΒ Akiva is hardly an angel. The war that divides them, from what they both said I fell like I’m on Karou’s side. Why attack them just because they’re different? Because they wanted freedom from your stupid rule? To stop their people being slaves? It seems like the “angels” are the ones at fault to me. You can’t treat people like that and not expect them to fight back. To think that because they don’t speak your language means they’re not intelligent beings is showing what kind of ignorant people the angels are, not the chimera.

Anyway, enough of my rant. I hope the next book is better, or at least hooks me in faster than this one did.

I have the little novella on my tablet too. I think that goes after the next book.

Happy reading,
A

Leave a Reply

