Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith.

I was supposed to show my recent book purchases in this post but I haven’t taken a photo of them yet as the weather has been crap and I wanted to take a photo outside for a change. So hopefully I can do it tomorrow. There was only two books till one arrived in the mail yesterday.

I got The Cuckoo’s Calling from the library this week. I tried to read this a couple of years ago but didn’t get that far into it before putting it down. This time I finished it.

11004241_10155117535305018_1556473725_nThis book is written by JK Rowling as Robert Galbraith which is what, I think, put me off. I’m used to her writing style as Rowling with the Harry Potter series and The Casual Vacancy but the is completely different. So much swearing too. I mean, I swear but there’s one word that kept coming up and I really hate it. I couldn’t believe she was using it.

So this book came under my reading challenge as ‘a book you started but never finished.’
I did eventually get into the story. It took me most of the book to do it but once I did I was trying to figure out what happened to Lula. I had my suspicions proven correct.

I’m not going to go out and buy it. Or the next one. I think I’ll just use the library to read them. It seems to have lost the it though.

So, The Cuckoo’s Calling is about a private detective, Cormoron Strike, who’s struggling to keep his business afloat when he gets a new client and a temporary secretary, who he can’t afford, and with the new client, a new case. Lula Landry died six months (I think) before her brother hires Strike to find out what really happened. Did she commit suicide like the police said? Or was it something else? Her brother thinks she was pushed. But, if she was, why did the police not see it? Who would want to kill her?

You would think after that, that I would be like ‘oh this sounds good, I want to know what happened.’ But, I don’t know, it took me so long to read this book. I had to start another book to reward myself for reading three chapters. I’d pick up the other one and read two chapters of that. It’s great motivation. Towards the end though I was reading it because I wanted to and not because I wanted to read more of the other one. Which was Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

Until next time,
A

Leave a Reply

