Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor.

This is the second book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy. I’m really struggling to read these books. I just can’t seem to get into them.

10945573_10155161460660018_682510373925779778_nWith Daughter of Smoke and Bone I decided to read two or three chapters and then reward myself with a few chapters of another book. So I did the same with this one and I will probably have to do it again with the last book.

I don’t know what it is about these books but they just don’t do anything for me. I don’t like the ‘romance’ between Karou and Akiva. I don’t particularly like Akiva anyway.

So this book picks up after Karou has been back to Eretz and seen what’s happened to her home and people after what Akiva told her he did in Marrakesh. I’m not going to say too much about it because of spoilers, not that I think the books are that good, but for those who do I’m not going to do that.

I will say when I picked this book up I was confused for a bit. I had no idea what Karou was doing or where she was.

I don’t understand why she went to Thaigo when he was worse than Akiva but whatever. She made a stupid decision, working with/for that evil dog. And in the end, she finally saw the light about what she was doing.

I really like Ziri and Issa. I want Karou with Ziri but that’ll never happen. The relationship between Karou and AkivaΒ just seems so forced to me. I can’t get into it like I have with other couples.

I think other than Ziri and Issa, the only characters I like in these books are Zuzana and Mik. I have an eBook copy of the novella written about their first date but I think I’m going to take a break after reading the last book before reading that. I don’t want my dislike for these books to influence their story because I do like them.

I’m not too sure about Karou at all. Sometimes she seems like a character I would like and then she gets all obsessed over Akiva again. It’s just annoying. I don’t think the last book will change my mind about them if I’ve read two and I still can’t get into it.

Why am I still reading them? I really hate leaving a trilogy or a series unfinished. I’ve done it once with a series of books by James Phelan but those were for kids and the writing was horrible. Plus, the story just seemed really, really stupid. They kept getting worse with every book which is why I gave up.

Until next time,
A

Leave a Reply

