Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth.

With Insurgent being released this month I decided to reread the trilogy. I haven’t read them in a year so I wanted to read them again before I see the movie.

Divergent takes place in Chicago, or what was Chicago. The world is divided into five different factions,Β Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent) and then the factionless who live on the streets.

When you turn sixteen in this dystopian world you have to choose a faction to live in. To choose a faction you weren’t born into mean leaving your family behind and everything you care about. “Faction before blood.”

IMG_20150311_113518Beatrice has to choose between her family and who she is. Beatrice grew up in Abnegation but for her being selfless is a struggle. It’s never come naturally to her. When Beatrice makes her choice she has to go through initiation before she’s accepted as a member of her chosen faction. Until she passes, she has the threat of being factionless if she fails hanging over her head.

Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to figure out where she fits in her faction, who her friends actually are and what is going on with this infuriating boy she feels strongly for. Yet at the same time Tris has a secret. One that she’s been told to tell no one. If she does, she could be killed.

As Tris begins to like life in her new faction she discovers secrets that could destroy the society she lives in and the lives of those she loves. That secret that could get her killed could actually save those she loves.

I first saw this book in a bookstore in the mall. It was national book week or something like that and a lot of books were really cheap. Without really knowing much about it I bought it. I’ve never regretted buying this book. I had to get the sequel as soon as I finished Divergent. Allegiant wasn’t out yet when I finished that so the wait was really annoying.

I really like Tris. She makes this life changing decision knowing how it will affect her family but she has to be true to herself. She never really got Abnegation. I think she thought it was a great idea but selflessness never came easy to her. Caleb, her brother, had to remind Tris to be selfless.

Going through all that and then having this huge secret to deal with, hiding things from her friends, no knowing who she can trust. If she can even trust the leaders in her faction is insane.

Then there’s Tobias, who seems like an a.hole at the start but even from the first time I read the book I felt he was trying to help her and I couldn’t believe Tris was too dumb to see it. I think being raised in Abnigation didn’t help with that. I don’t know. I just feel like Tobias was being obvious and then he’d back away in front of Eric.

I know a lot of people don’t like these books. They don’t like Tris or the whole world. I’ve actually heard someone say they can’t read the book because they don’t like Shailene. I have no idea what Shailene has to do with reading Divergent but I think she’s amazing as Tris. I think they’re missing out. I love the Divergent world. It has so many twists and action. Then there’s the other side, the friendships, relationships and what Tris would risk to save the people she cares about.

“I am selfish. I am brave.” I think this was the best line in the book. I pretty much summed up Tris’s decision in six words.

I’m off to bake a cake now.
Happy reading,
A

Leave a Reply

