Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Another day, another book review.

I think I said in my review of Divergent that I wanted to reread Insurgent before I saw the movie, which I still haven’t seen, so I decided to read the whole trilogy again and then finally read Four. I’ve had that since it came out last year but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

Insurgent picks up after Divergent and what Erudite and the Dauntless traitors did to Abnegation. I think Tris, Tobias, Marcus and Caleb are still on the train they jumped on at the end of Divergent but I could be wrong. They decide to go to Amity and seek sanctuary while they decide what to do next.Β 11072972_10155266061990018_2132913991_n

A lot of stuff happens in this book but I don’t really want to give too much away. It’s really hard so if I accidentally spoil you I’m sorry.

The Factionless want to work with the Dauntless (the loyal Dauntless) to take down Erudite and change the way the government is run and Tobias agrees but Tris doesn’t think it’s a good idea.

Tris wants to help Marcus save information that Erudite is holding that the Abnegation leaders knew about. That her parents knew about. Before the Factionless and Dauntless destroy it. Obviously helping Marcus is not something Tobias can do and so if Tris decides to help him she’ll have to betray Tobias and the Dauntless.

That’s all I’m saying, because anything else will just ruin it for those of you who haven’t read it yet. Why haven’t you read it yet?!

So, I’ve read a lot of negative things online about Tris in this book. I don’t get it. Honestly I agree with every decision she made in this book. I think I’m quick to anger just like Tris and I found myself angry at Tobias when she was.

Even though I hate Marcus for what he did to Tobias when he was a kid I think Tris made the right decision. Tobias wasn’t seeing things properly. Yes, I get that he hated his father and didn’t trust him but to not even listen to where Tris was coming from, that’s what made me angry with him. He’s meant to trust her and he just dismisses her opinion about it.

I was also suspicious about Tobias’s mother. Evelyn? Is that her name? I can’t remember. I don’t understand how he could trust her blindly like that. He took Tris to the meeting saying he trusted her judgement, that she sees things other people don’t, and then just completely ignores her when she said he shouldn’t trust her. What was even the point of taking her to the meeting in the first place? Just because someone is your mother doesn’t mean that they have your best interests at heart. Otherwise, she’d never have left him with Marcus in the first place.

Β I understand why Tris did what she did in this book. Everything she sacrificed for the people she cared about and what she thought was the right thing to do instead of just following along blindly. I don’t understand why she gets called an idiot or why people don’t like her in this book.

I’m not going to read Allegiant any time soon. Again, I’m just going to wait till I pull it out of my TBR jar because I read this a lot after than I wanted to. I didn’t want to put it down even though I had read it before.

Until next time,
A

7 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

  1. I completely agree with you. Every decision Tris made in this book, I was with her. When she was angry at Tobias, so was I. I didn’t understand why someone as smart as him couldn’t see through everything that was happening around him… he kept on acting so blindly! And there were so many parts where he didn’t even bother to consider Tris’ opinion! It was QUITE frustrating (although I still love the book. That’s Veronica Roth. The cruel woman.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

