Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.

I had to do an April TBR for a challenge on my Instagram. I don’t normally choose a pile of books per month because I either end up reading more (like I have now) or not finishing the ones I set out to read.

All the books I chose came out of my TBR jar which makes it easier. I don’t have to stand and stare at my bookcases and wonder what to read.

The first book I read this month was City of Glass. I’m slowly getting through my reread of The Mortal Instruments so that I can read City of Heavenly Fire.

In City of Glass Clary has to travel to the home of Shadowhunters, the Glass City. She doesn’t have permission to enter the city and if she does she’s breaking the Law. What makes it worse is that Jace doesn’t want her there and Simon is thrown in prison by Shadowhunters that are suspicious of a vampire that can walk around in the sun.

Clary finds a new friend in Sebastian. But he seems to want more than she can give. Or wants to give.

18With Valentine getting ready to attack the Clave with all his ‘army’Β to destroy the Shadowhunters forever. Can the Shadowhunters and Downworlders put aside their hatred and work together to stop him for good?

SPOILERS – Do not read past here if you haven’t read this book yet.

Thank the gods that I’m past the incestuous non relationship but kind of something between Clary and Jace. I knew they weren’t related because I’ve read this before but still. I can’t get over that Cassandra would set up this couple in City of Bones, then oh btw you’re brother and sister, haha. The love you have for each other is gross. But for some reason I still thought they belonged together. How gross is that?

Then, to get to City of Glass and Jace isn’t Johnathan Christopher at all, but a Herondale. Does she want to make me think I’m some kind of freak and then oh no, they aren’t related at all. I was just kidding guys. Jeez. But, that part at least is over.

I don’t know why I like these books. The writing is okay. I mean, I’ve read worse *cough* Me and Earl and the Dying Girl *cough* but when I’m reading them I just can’t put them down. They draw me in.

Are Clary and Jace drawn to each other because of the Angel blood on them? Because it seems like there is a pull between them. Neither of them have even really looked at anyone else. Issy said Jace would date girls and then just get bored. But he seems drawn to Clary. So maybe it is the blood. Who knows.

I knew Jace’s blood was why Simon could walk in the daylight but I didn’t know why until this book (the first time I read it). Obviously Jace’s blood is good because it sort of healed Simon, at least of the ability to walk in the sun and not burn to ashes.

When Simon said that Sebastian’s blood tasted like poison (I think) I was a bit suspicious of who had demon blood but I can’t remember if I put two and two together then or later. It’s been years since I’ve read these books.

Poor Max though. I know he wasn’t in the booksΒ a lot but I liked him. And finally, Alec and Magnus. I know there’s a huge Malec fandom and yes, I love Magnus but I’m not that big a fan of them. I like them together but they aren’t my favourite ship.

I kind of remember what happens in City of Lost Souls, no idea what goes on in City of Angels at all. Hence the reread. So hopefully I’ll get to read City of Angels soon. C’mon TBR jar!

Have you read TMI series? What do you think of them? Let me know.

– Aimee

Leave a Reply

