Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa.

I recently got all the books in the Iron Fey series on my tablet but then I found the first one in a second hand bookshop. It’s in pretty good condition so I thought why not.

I don’t know why I decided to read it this month. I’ve had a lot of people tell me that I’ll love it. I don’t know why they thought that but apparently they did. It’s not that I didn’t like it but it was far from love. I gave it a three on goodreads so it wasn’t love.

Anyway, The Iron King is the first book in The Iron Fey series. Meghan doesn’t really fit in at home or at school. Her stepfather doesn’t seem to remember she lives in the house. The one time she’s noticed at school it’s pretty traumatic.

The_Iron_King_CoverWhen things start to change in her life she never could have guessed how different she in from those around her. Meghan is the daughter if a faery king. She’s also a pawn in a deadly war between the fae.

Meghan now has to fight to save the ones she loves. Go up against an evil that the fae don’t even know about or are helpless to fight. She also starts to fall for a prince. But will he rather see her dead or will he let her see what’s in his icy heart.

I think the ‘romance’ in this book was obvious. It was also obvious how Robbie/Puck felt about her but apparently Meghan was too blind to see it. I guess Meghan can’t really be with a human now. Or maybe she can. I don’t know. But I’m not sure what’ll happen with the ice prince yet.

As for the fae world, it was driving me crazy. All the things that Meghan was told to do. Her father expecting things from her and not even asking. Ugh, it just makes me mad when someone’s free will is taken away from them. Even in a fictional world. At least Meghan doesn’t always listen.

I thought this book was okay. It’s not the best book I read. I think I was also kind of still stuck in Anna and the French Kiss when I was reading this and I’d have to put it down a lot. I hope the series gets better. I do have the rest on my tablet so I’ll read them eventually.

Have you read this series? Does it get better than The Iron King? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee

2 thoughts on “Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa.

  1. Anvi says:

    Hi! I have the Iron King since a year in my closet. I started reading it when I bought it but it was a real blah read, from the beginning itself. I left it after making it to a 50 odd pages. I have since then been debating if I should or should not give it another try. I have read such good fantasy authors and this one just didn’t seem good enough to invest my time into. I read your review and wondered if you’d ask me to give it one more go. Let me know. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi!! You seem to have the same feelings I got from it. I do have the other books on my tablet. I’ll be reading the next one and then I’ll see how that one goes. I’m not sure if I’ll read the rest if I don’t connect with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

