April Book Haul.

11160160_10155386362080018_1899935352_nThis month I got a total of 19 books. This is the most books I’ve gotten in a month all year. I doubt I’ll be getting as much next month.

The first book I got was from a giveaway on Instagram, a signed copy of Vanishing 11180136_10155386413980018_89601547_nGirls by Lauren Oliver. I’d read a book last year of hers and there was a chapter of this in the back. I never read it because it was a year till it’s release so I decided to wait.

I haven’t read it yet. But the cover is so pretty. This is the first Lauren Oliver book that I own. In Vanishing Girls two sisters have an accident and one, Dara, comes out scarred. Then she goes missing and her sister Nick thinks she just playing around. That’s until a second girl goes missing and Nick thinks the disappearances are connected. Now Nick has to find her sister before it’s too late.

I have flipped through it and there are photos on some of the pages. Hopefully I’ll read it soon.

11195313_10155386415455018_1411554320_nThe next books I got were in the Easter Sales. Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights and Edgar Allen Poe’s The Raven and Other Tales.

I decided to read more classics and this were on sale so I couldn’t resist. All three came to $12.50 NZD. The covers are a lot brighter in person. I’m not going to go into all three books because they’ve been around awhile. I’m not sure when I’ll be in the mood to read them. I have to be in the right head space for these.

I’ve decided to buy the new editions of the Harry Potter books that came out. My ones are 11128393_10155386415995018_2105713198_ngetting a bit destroyed every time I read them. Plus, these copies are so pretty. I have the original copies in hardback so I decided to get these editions in paperback. Even though the hardback are gorgeous. I will get the others in the series but I’m in no rush yet. I want to finish getting another series first and then I’ll pick up the other Harry Potter books.

The covers are so good though. I love them. Dobby is on the back of Chamber of Secrets, he’s adorable.

11122062_10155386418050018_621956470_nThe next books I got are pretty random.Β I’ve wanted to read Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys for awhile. I finally decided to get a copy from Book Depository. Then I got Solitaire by Alice Oseman (which I’ve read) and Falling into Place by Amy Zhang.

I’m not sure if I’ll like Between Shades of Gray or Falling into Place but I decided to get them anyway. I hope I do like them.

Solitaire and Falling into Place were on sale in the same Easter sale. I think they came to $7.50 NZD which is why I couldn’t pass them up even if I don’t like them.

I started to get the Little Black Classics this month too. When I went into the bookstores 11117947_10155386421320018_910279608_nnear where I live they didn’t have any so I had to order them in. They’d never even heard of them. Over here they’re $3 each. I went through the list of 80 books that were released for Penguin’s 80th anniversary and I’m only interested in 15 of them. As I already have Edgar Allen Poe’s stories in another edition I won’t be getting the Little Black Classic version.

The ones I have so far are –
Jason and Medea by Apollonius of Rhodes
The Tinder Box by Hans Christian Andersen
Circles of Hell by Dante
The Beautiful Cassandra by Jane Austen
The Great Winglebury Duel by Charles Dickens
The Great Fire of London by Samuel Pepys
Leonardo da Vinci by Giorgio Vasari
It was snowing butterflies by Charles Darwin and
Circe and the Cyclops by Homer.
I still have a few more on my list to order but I will not be getting all 80.

11198899_10155386412790018_482946168_n

The last book I got this month is Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I’ve been wanting to read this book for so long that I just decided to give in and buy it. I got it from Book Depository because in the shops over here the paperback version is $25 and when I checked online the hardback was $20 and it just didn’t make sense to get the paperback. Obviously the paperback was cheaper at Book Depository too but the hardback was so pretty.

I haven’t read it yet but it’s on my to read pile forΒ next month. I’ve been hearing really good things about it so I hope it doesn’t let me down. I cannot wait to read it. This is definitely my favourite book purchase of this month!

So that’s my book haul. I decided not to give a description of every book or this blog post would be way too long.

Have you read any of these books? What was your favourite book you got in April?

– Aimee

3 thoughts on “April Book Haul.

Leave a Reply

