Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

I’ve never read a Patrick Ness book before this. I was watching a Booktube video and the girl in it recommended this so I went to see if my library had it and they did. I heard it’s going to be a movie too which I find kind of weird.

A Monster Calls is about Coner who’s been having dreams with a horrible monster in them. So when one actually comes to his house he’s surprised to see it’s not the one he thinks it is.

This monster wants something from Coner. Something Coner never wants to talk about let alone think about. A_Monster_Calls

This book was really weird. I didn’t really like it. Coner and his family is going through this horrible time and not only is he dealing with that but there’s also a kid and two cronies bullying him at school. Except the bully is so freaking weird. I don’t get it.

Then this monster turns up. Only he’s not a monster but a walking, talking tree. Kind of like Groot but he’s got a better vocabulary. And can show Coner things when he tells him stories.

Things happen to Coner and at the end the worst happens to a kid. But even though I got a bit teary when Coner and his mum were talking in the hospital it still wasn’t a good book for me.

I don’t know what the movie is going to be like. I know Liam Neeson is the ‘monster’ but that’s about it. I don’t get why a movie is being made of this book anyway. So, I doubt I’ll see it.

I hope the next book I read by him is better. I have More Than This on my shelves to read.

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

  1. ClareSnow says:

    I posted my review of “A Monster Calls” 10min after yours and our opinions couldn’t be more different. I loved it, partly because i really like illustrated books. of his other books I’ve only read the “Chaos Walking” trilogy. its dystopian and very different to “A Monster Calls.” If you like speculative fiction i recommend the series. They are very long books, but worth the read!

    Like

    • I tried to read The Knife of Never Letting Go earlier this year. I don’t even think I finished the first chapter. It was just too weird for me. I know a lot of people like that trilogy but I just couldn’t get into it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

