Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

I’ve been seeing this book all over instagram lately so when I found out that the library had a copy I decided to read it. I didn’t know at the time that this is being turned into a movie. I don’t really get why though.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is about a sixteen year old boy, Jacob, as he travels to an island off the coast of Wales. His grandfather spent some time there as a child during the war. Now Jacob and his father travel there so Jacob can, hopefully, put his nightmares behind him.11198701_10155396868650018_1780617702_n

Jacob discovers more than he’d bargained for. Soon, he’s thrust into a battle against an evil only he can see. But Jacob has to make a tough decision. To stay with his family or go and help stop these evil creatures from gaining more power.

Even when I was halfway through this book I didn’t know what to think of it. It’s really weird and the kids in it are more than peculiar. Their abilities are just crazy. A boy with bees inside him? What the hell? And the fact that they’re children in body but not really in time. I don’t even know if that’s right. Not really explaining that well.

I have the second book in my pile of books from the library to read but I don’t know if I’ll even read it yet. I gave this book three stars on goodreads but to be honest I don’t even know why. I don’t think I liked it enough for three stars.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

Leave a Reply

