Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter.

I recently found this copy of Alice in Zombieland in a second-hand book store. It’s never been read and as an added bonus, hardback for $10NZD. I was so happy to find this. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while.

I’ll start with a bit about the book and then get into my thoughts on it.

One night driving home with her family Alice Bell’s life changes. In the time between 11245369_10155439985770018_247319757_nheartbeats everything Alice knew and loved is gone and her life will never be the same again.

To avenge the family she lost Ali must fight and to survive what’s coming she has to trust the one person people are warning her away from, Cole Holland. Local bad boy. But Cole has his own secrets.

I love zombie movies, TV shows and books so I don’t know why it took me so long to read this. Other than I never saw a copy of it anywhere. I didn’t think I’d like it after some of the things I’d heard about it. I really need to stop thinking that because every time I read something people have mixed reviews on I like them. I think I just need to stop reading other peoples reviews until I’ve read the book myself.

I did like Alice in Zombieland. I liked Ali and how she stood up for herself and her friends.  I think that the training her father gave her, even though she didn’t think she’d ever need it, helped her with that.

I normally hate demanding, controlling guys (Travis from Beautiful Disaster) but Cole, I think, is different. When his story came out I understood why he acted that way. And not once did he try to control Ali, he tried to protect her and yes he can dish out orders but he was different with her. Jeez, that sounds horribly cheesey but I don’t know how else to explain him.

The zombies in this book are a little different to traditional zombies. “Traditional” like they’re real… Anyway, they’re more spirit based in Alice in Zombieland than physical undead bodies wandering around. They took me awhile to get used to. I mean, I was expecting some Walking Dead action going on but even though you get action it’s not the same.

I’ll be reading Through the Zombie Glass soon because I got it on Book Depository for a great price and it arrived this month.

Have you read these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter.

Leave a Reply

