Review: The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B Cooney.

I was going to review these books in the one post but I’m pretty sure that would be way too long to read let alone write. There are six books in this series, five books and one eBook. I haven’t read the eBook because these are all library books and I didn’t want to pay for the eBook when I’ll only read it once.

I’ll do a brief summary of what this one is about and then get into my review.

On a normal day at school, Janie Johnson is sitting at lunch with her friends when she picks up one of her friends carton of milk. On it is a photo of a missing three-year old. The missing girl, Jennie Spring, was kidnapped 12 years ago.

Janie recognizes the photo of the little girl. It’s her. Janie is Jennie Spring.

Now, Janie has to figure out what happened. Did her parents face_on_the_milk_carton_2013kidnap her? Her parents aren’t the kind of people who would do that. Plus, she loves them. They raised her.

But what about that other family? If Janie ignores this, they’ll never know what happened to their daughter.

I picked up this series from the library because I’d seen them online and they sounded interesting. They reminded me of Finding Carter which is also about a teenager finding out she was kidnapped as a child. Although, not the same way.

These books are really short. If you don’t want to know what happens at the end of the first book then stop reading here.

I really didn’t like Reeve. Janie’s world is falling apart and all he can think of or wants to do is make out and have sex. Not that they ever get that far. I get that they’re a couple but he’s really insensitive. And then he leaves her and starts seeing the one girl at school who gives it up to anyone? Asshole. Obviously, I didn’t like him at all.

Janie annoyed me too but she is 15 and going through something horrible. But her refusal at the start to find out what happened really annoyed me. If that was me I’d need to know what happened.

At the end of this book, Janie and Miranda (her mother) are calling the Springs, which leads into the next book, Whatever Happened to Janie. I’ll review that tomorrow.

Have you read these books? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B Cooney.

Leave a Reply

