Review: What Janie Found by Caroline B. Cooney.

Janie’s families seem to have made peace. Life is getting back to normal. Janie is even talking to her ex-boyfriend, Reeve, again.

But when Janie’s Connecticut father, Frank, has a stroke, Janie has to step up and help her mother, Miranda, with the bills and support her. While going through her father’s files Janie finds something that could destroy both her families.

84ce95da31dbd60b840fee5ba7f49b83I don’t know if it’s just me but these books keep dragging on. I know they aren’t very long but reading them back to back has gotten really boring.

This book deals with what Frank Johnson had been hiding. Not only from Janie but the FBI and possibly his wife too. Janie doesn’t have the heart to ask her in case Miranda knew as well. It doesn’t seem like the right time to bring it up. Instead, Janie confides in her little brother, Brian, and Reeve, who she’s not sure she can trust.

Reeve really annoyed me in this book. Always forcing hisΒ company on Janie even when she doesn’t want him around. And it’s really obvious that she doesn’t. You can’t just make someone love you again because it’s what you want. It’s just pathetic. If she wanted him back she’d say so but Reeve isn’t giving her that option. He thinks that always being with her is going to make her fall for him again. Doesn’t work that way. If anything, it’ll push her further away.

Again, Janie has another decision to make. This time it doesn’t just concern her families, the Johnsons and the Springs, but Hannah too. Janie has the chance to finally get answers to her questions. But at what cost?

I think Janie is finally getting those lady balls I mentioned in my last review. This time she has to make the decision herself. I get that she only told Brian and Reeve because they didn’t give her any other choice but this was something Janie had to do on her own.

I’m not sure what I would’ve done in her situation but I also do know I would’ve gotten rid of Reeve. He’s just so freaking annoying. I know I keep saying that but he seems to just get worse in every book.

I’m glad Janie is finally getting closer to the Springs though. I really like Brian.

One more book and I’m finally done!

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

