Review: The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes.

I’ve been really slack with my reviews lately. I’ll be getting back into them now.

Stella Sweeney used to believe in karma. Until she does a good deed and then ends up in a car accident and her car is completely ruined.Β 11650579_10155645196405018_1742183308_n

Then, Stella gets sick. Really sick. But this disease changes her life. Turning an ordinary woman into an inspiration and tearing her family apart.

When I read the title of this book I pictured a woman stealing Stella’s identity and then credit card fraud and all kinds of horrible things but I was completely wrong. The synopsis didn’t give much away so I was a little confused with all the time jumps.

I picked this up from the library for something different to read. I feel like I’ve been reading a lot of YA books lately. And I love YA but I needed something more adult. I think the last ‘adult’ book I read was Gone Girl. The Woman Who Stole My Life was a nice change.

I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Guillain-BarrΓ© Syndrome before. I have heard of people being paralysed randomly on TV and in magazines, maybe I just missed what it was called. It was interesting to read about it though. I think if I was in Stella’s position I would’ve gone crazy. Being stuck in my own head 24/7, not being able to communicate, for months would have driven me up the walls. I don’t know how people who’ve gone through that have come out the other side sane.

So much happened in this book. It seemed like Stella couldn’t catch a break. She’d be happy one minute, her life great, and then it came crashing down. I think Stella kept waiting for that to happen though, especially with Mannix. Which is why she completely accepted what Gilda told her even though she had no reason to. She never let herself believe it would work. I’m a lot like Stella in that way. Whenever something really good happens to me I always expect it to fall apart too.

Then there’s Stella’s lack of a backbone. I don’t want to call her weak but she did let people walk all over her and it was kind of pathetic. The way she just agreed with Ryan when he blamed her for everything. Backing down to Jeffery when he’s being a rude little brat. Stella is the parent, she should not be letting her son tell her what she can or can’t do. Why are men so frustrating, even in fiction!

I think Ryan was really selfish. Yeah, he stood by Stella while she was ill but he blamed her for getting ill in the first place, like she did it on purpose. Then he resents having to take care of his own kids, like he’s not their parent too. To top it all of he does this really stupid thing, it backfires and then he blames Stella for letting him do it. Like she has any control over him. He drove me crazy.

Betsy and Jeffery were weird kids. One’s carefree, more mature than her parents and the other is really angry. Angry at his parents and the world. His possessiveness of his mother was so annoying and over the top. I understand why a child may do that but Jeffery was a teenager. It was a bit too much.

I’m not going to talk about Mannix, I don’t want to have too many spoilers and I think if I get into his story I’ll just give a lot away.

I think it was a good idea for me to take a break for the YA books for a while. I need to start reading a mix of books. Not that I don’t love YA, I do, but I need to mix it up now and then too. I feel like I’m reading the same kinds of books.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

