Review: Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan.

Three different perspectives on a day that changed everything.
Claire is sitting in class.
Jasper is sleeping.
Peter is waiting for a record store to open.
None of them know each other that well.
But this is the Before.

love-is-the-higher-lawAnd then..

Their world is turned upside down. Everything is different. There is fear and grief, confusion and doubt. It’s a horrible, tragic time.

But there is also love, kindness, compassion and strength.

On September 11, 2001 thousands of people died. But millions came together across the world in ways no one could have imagined.
Just when Claire, Peter and Jasper’s lives are starting to take shape, their world is turned upside down. As they start to connect there are new friendships, understandings and discovering what really matters.

I’m not American but I still remember waking up and seeing what happened. I think most people remember where they were when they first heard what happened on 9/11. I was in my first year at high school and I’d never seen anything like it. I couldn’t imagine what the people in NYC were going through.

I’ve never read a book on 9/11 before and I honestly never thought I would. I’ve started reading David’s books and I saw this one at the library. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it but I thought I’d at least try it before I judged it.

I liked it. In the author’s note at the back of the book he said that he wrote this because he wanted people who weren’t there, people who weren’t born or in the future and especially younger readers, to understand what happened that day. Not just the acts that lead to 9/11 and the thousands of people who lost their lives but what came after. How New York came together to help each other. The feelings of unity, compassion, grief and disbelief.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wasn’t there on 9/11. If you were born or not, American or not. I think what happened on September 11th, 2001 will stay with us all. It’s the day that changed a lot of things.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

