Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey.

When Echo was a child she ran away from home and lived in New York’s Public Library. One night Echo tries to steal a wallet and that’s when The Ala finds her. The Ala is an ancient creature, and Avicet, she has feathers for hair and is full of magic.

The Ala gives Echo a home with the Avicet, who live beneath the city away from human eyes. Stuck in two worlds, Echo survives by selling stolen items on the black market while growing up to become a daring, sarcastic and fiercely loyal person.

When a war threatens to destroy the only family Echo has ever cared about, Echo chooses to act. There’s a legend about and elusive mythical creature, the Firebird, that has the power to end the war for good. Finding the Firebird won’t be easy but Echo’s life as a thief has taught her how to find hidden things.

When I first heard of The Girl at Midnight it was being compared to DaughterΒ of Smoke and Bone. So I was kind of hesitant to read it because I really didn’t like Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy at all (I’ve reviewed them all on here and my blog) but I’m happy to say that although there are similarities, The Girl at Midnight is so much better.

Okay, so the storyline is similar between the two books. There is a war going on between 11715903_10155682460455018_371702120_ntwo mythical communities. In The Girl at Midnight the war is between the Avicet and dragons which was a lot more interesting than the creatures in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. No one remembers what started the war, something about loss of magic on one side and then blaming the other for taking it away. I think if there is no real reason for a war that has lasted hundreds of years, why not just end it and save lives?

Another reason I liked this book better was the characters. In Daughter of Smoke and Bone I couldn’t stand the main characters and the love story was so forced it seemed fake. It ruined the whole story for me. But the A Girl At Midnight was different. The book isn’t about love or lost love. It does have relationships in it but I’m not going to get into them because I don’t want to ruin the book for anyone.

I really liked the characters in this book. Obviously not all of them but I think most of them. And, no one that I liked died for one, so that’s a major plus.

Echo is strong, loyal, independent and a little lost. She has a family in the Avicen, the Ala, Ivy and Rowan, but she never feels completely welcome or at home. Which is why she still lives in the library the Ala found her in.

Caius is a leader that has overlooked one fierce enemy and it costs him almost everything. He leaves his home with his life, his loyalist friend and guard and two prisoners. He’s searching for the same thing Echo is, but for what reasons?

The Ala, Ivy, Dorian, Jasper and Rowan are all great characters. Some of them you don’t get to know that well bit hopefully that’ll change in the next book. If I talk about each of them this will be a really long review.

The world in The Girl at Midnight was kind of addicting. Once I stopped comparing it to The Daughter of Smoke and Bone and started getting into the story, I didn’t want to put the book down. I did have my suspicions about the Firebird and it’s connection to Echo, which I was right about.

I didn’t intend to compare this to Daughter of Smoke and Bone so much but it just happened.

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

