Review: Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll.

Title – Luckiest Girl Alive
Author – Jessica Knoll
Publication date – May 21st 2015 by MacMillian
ISBN –Β 9781447286202

Ani has been invited to tell her side of what happened when she was in high school. She hopes it will be the opportunity to show everyone from her past how far she’s come from that horrific time in her life. Ani is even willing to let the production crew film her wedding to Luke Harrison, the final step to her transformation.

But as both events begin to get closer, Ani’s facade starts to crack and she’s starting to realize there’s a price to pay for perfection.

11846024_10155776172240018_971127735_nI picked this book up because I saw it on Reese Witherspoon’s Instagram and wanted to see what it was about.

I kind of figured out what happened in high school but I wasn’t 100% on the who. It was pretty violent though.

I’m not sure if I liked Ani. In high school something horrible happened to her (not the one the production crew contacted her about, something else) and she still wanted to be with Liam. That’s insane.

Her lack of concern or empathy for her schoolmates after the “incident” was kind of scary. All she seemed to care about was how it would affect her future (the school being closed, not the police case).

As an adult I felt like Ani was playing a role to land Luke and as life got stressful and Luke was not at all sympathetic, the Ani that Luke thought he knew started to change. I felt like the girl Luke fell in love with didn’t exist and when Ani realized it was the end, she was finally able to let Luke’s Ani go because that wasn’t who she is.

I don’t know if Ani actually loved Luke or she just made herself think she did so she could get one over on the people from her past. That’s what it looked like to me. She wanted his name and the kind of money that comes from generations, not overnight.

The stuff that came out about Arthur was kind of surprising. I did not see that coming. I figured he was part of what happened but I thought his friendship with Ani/TifAni was real. But that’s what they want you to think, so I was fooled.

I’m not sure what I expected when I started this book bit it wasn’t that great. I felt bad about all the crap Ani went through when she was a teenager but she wasn’t a very likable person at all.

Have you read this? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

