Review: Spelled by Betsy Schow.

Title – Spelled
Author – Betsy Schow
Publication Date – June 2nd 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN –Β 9781492608714

Dorothea is the crown princess of Emerald. Her life has always been full of pretty dresses and shoes. Now she’s betrothed to Prince Kato, without being asked first. This is not what she imagined her happily ever after would look like.

When Dorothea tries to fix her prince problem by wishing on a cursed star, it all backfires, leaving her kingdom in chaos and her parents in somewhere called Kansas. Now Dorothea and her ‘prince’ have to find the Wizard of Oz the undo the curse… before the wickedest witch of all is released from her prison.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. It’s taken me awhile to get around to reading it from when I was approved but thanks to ARC August I’ve been getting some books read on my NetGalley shelf.

When I first started Spelled I really didn’t like Dorothea. She was a spoiled princess and only the latest fashion trends and avoiding the princes her parents invited to the palace. She didn’t seem to care about anyone but herself. I know she loves her parents but it seemed to me Dorothea always put herself first.

Prince Kato was an arrogant jerk at the start. He expected Dorothea to marry him because11843987_10155806685130018_760625930_n her mother and he demanded it of her. He’d never even talked to her before the engagement was announced.

They both go through a transformation while on a journey to fix the mess Dorothea created. They both seem to grow up and recognise their own faults.

The world in Spelled is really good. It’s a mix of The Wizard of Oz and fairy tales. I love the ways Betsy Schow changed some words to fit in with the story. Like “What the pix is that?” and “Thank Grimm.” They were a really great touch.

There is a twist in Spelled, that I’m not going to give away, but I had figured it out before it was revealed in the end. I don’t know what made me click but I think it was around the time of the wedding. That’s all I’m going to say.

I didn’t know there was another book after this till I got to the end and there was a bit of a cliffhanger. I’ll definitely be keeping my eyes open for the next one. I gave Spelled three stars on Goodreads because Dorothea and Kato really annoyed me at the start and it lasted most of the book till they both grew up towards the end. Other than that, I liked the book.

Have you read Spelled? Let me know your thoughts on it in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

