Review: This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp.

Title – This is Where it Ends
Author – Marieke Nijkamp
Publication Date – January 5th 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire

10AM –
Opportunity High School’s principal finishes her speech welcoming all students to a new semester. Students start to gather their belongings and head to the doors of the auditorium, ready for class. But none of the doors will open.

Then someone starts shooting.

Told in four different perspectives over the next hour, terror reigns as one student gets revenge for what they see as betrayal while everyone else fights to survive.

I received a copy of this to review on NetGalley. When I first read the synopsis I really wanted to read it so I was glad to be approved to review a copy.

Right from the start of the book I was hooked. I’m not sure why, a school shooting isn’t the 11857531_10155816917920018_1258066650_nbest thing to read about but I found myself wanting to know more and rooting for the characters of Claire, Tomas, Sylvia and Autumn while they told their stories, past and present.

I’m not sure I can fully understand what people go through during an event like this. Where the person you thought you knew comes to school one day with a gun and kills your friends, teachers and family. As far as I know there’s never been a school shooting in New Zealand and if there has been I don’t remember it. Okay, out of curiosity I googled school shooting in New Zealand and apparently we’ve only had one, back in 1923. There’s a reason I don’t remember it, I wasn’t born yet.

The lengths Autumn, Tomas and Sylvia go to try to save other students from harm was amazing. I’ve no idea what I would’ve done in their situation, probably panic and be no use at all. Claire was stuck outside, feeling useless, which is why I didn’t mention her with the others.

I don’t think you can go into a book like this and expect happy endings. Especially when the shooter is hell bent on getting his revenge on the town for turning it’s back on him and his family, in his eyes anyway. But what they did find was grief, loss, sacrifice, understanding, strength and knowing that life is precious and what you do with yours makes a difference. The epilogue was really good. I had tears in my eyes a couple of times reading this book.

Have you read This is Where it Ends? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

P.S. I’m really sorry for the horrible photo. I find it really difficult to take photos of eBooks.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

