Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Title – Cinder
Author – Marissa Meyer
Publication Date – January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN – 9780312641894

Cinder is the best mechanic in New Beijing and cyborg. Part human part machine. Cinder’s stepmother, Adri, never wanted her and when her step-sister, Peony, gets sick, Adri blames Cinder.

When Cinder meets Prince Kai she finds herself in between an evil queen and temptation.

To protect the future of all Earthens, Cinder has to uncover the secrets that surround her past. A life she has no memory of. Now, Cinder has to choose between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal.

This is the second time I’ve read Cinder but my first time reviewing it. I decided to reread The Lunar Chronicles before Winter is released later in the year. Well, all except Fairest because that book horrible to read for so many reasons. You can read my review on Fairest here.

I loved Cinder the first time I read it and I still love it now. I love fairy tales and re-tellings.

My favourite characters are Cinder, Iko and Kai. Cinder has more depth than the 11922017_10155832154445018_1388665427_nCinderella of Disney. I haven’t read the original tale yet. There’s a lot going on in Cinder’s life. She’s had to deal with the hatred of her stepmother and step-sister, Pearl. Peony and Iko are the only ones that care about her. After Peony gets sick, Cinder’s life is never going to be the same again.

When Cinder meets Prince Kai, she doesn’t tell him she’s cyborg. She doesn’t want to see his face change when he finds out, not with how she feels about him. I’m not sure if a relationship is possible between Cinder and Kai but I still find myself wanting them together.

And Iko. The android with the “programming error” that makes her absolutely hilarious. I think she’s my favourite android ever.

I only have one problem with this book. Adri says Cinder is her ward and that her husband adopted her before he died. That makes Adri, Pearl and Peony Cinder’s adoptive family not ‘step.’ Although Cinder sounds more like a slave and property than part of the family.

If you’ve read my review on Fairest you’ll know my feelings on Levana (I linked my review earlier in this post) so I won’t go into detail here other that I really hope someone makes that psycho suffer. Death would be too easy for her. I think taking away her ‘gift’ so she can’t control her glamour or anyone would make her crazy. Crazier than she is already. She’d be nothing without those. Then, someone can make Sybil suffer too.

I’m going to read Scarlett soon. I don’t have my own copies of The Lunar Chronicles yet but I’ll get them one day. I really love this series.

Have you read The Lunar Chronicles? Let me know what you think of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

10 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Leave a Reply

