Review: Spark by Rachael Craw.

Title – Spark
Author – Rachael Craw
Publication Date – July 1st 2014 by Walker Books Australia
ISBN – 9781922179623

One day Evie is an ordinary seventeen-year-old girl and the next she’s a shield, the result of an experiment gone horribly wrong. Evie is bound by her DNA to protect her best friend, Kitty, from an unknown killer.

The threat could come at any time, school, home, anywhere. The one thing Evie knows for sure is that it’ll be a fight to the death to save Kitty’s life.

But there’s something else Evie has to deal with, or someone else, Jamie. Not only is he Kitty’s twin brother and broken her heart but he’s also off-limits.

I was sent a copy of Spark by Walker Books Australia to review. I’d never heard of it before then. The author, Rachael Craw, lives in New Zealand so that’s kind of awesome.

Spark picks up after Evie’s mother has passed away, I think she had cancer, and Evie has moved in with her aunt Miriam. She hardly eats or sleeps and constantly has pins and needles. When her best friend moves back from England, Evie couldn’t be happier. Until she hears Kitty’s brother Jamie is coming too.

Then, at a party, everything changes and Evie’s life will never be the same. As she starts 11994247_10155912813575018_1054018662_nto learn why she’s changing, why everything has to be kept a secret, even from Kitty whose life is on the line, Evie starts coming to terms with her new life, if not fully accepting some of the things that come with it.

I really don’t like the sound of the Affinity Project people. By the sounds of it they don’t like the people who ‘work’ for them to make their own choices, even when it comes to relationships. They weren’t in the book a lot but hopefully more will be explained in the next book, Stray. I’m looking forward to seeing what Evie makes of them.

I wasn’t sure what to make of Spark when I started it. I don’t know anyone that’s read it. But it didn’t take long for me to be drawn in and not want to put the book down.

I loved the characters in Spark. Obviously not all of them (Richard) but I liked most of the others. Gil made me laugh with his flirtatiousness but he wasn’t over the top with it, just funny. I really liked Evie, Kitty and Jamie and can’t wait to see where the next book takes them.

I’m not going to give away the ending but I, like Evie and Miriam, probably have false hope. There’s only one way to find out though, which is where Stray comes into it.

I don’t know when I’ll be reading Stray but hopefully sometime soon. If you haven’t read Spark I highly recommend it. I know I’ve said it before but I could not put this book down.

Have you read Spark? Let me know what you thought in the comments.

– Aimee.

3 thoughts on “Review: Spark by Rachael Craw.

Leave a Reply

