Review: Legend by Marie Lu.

Title – Legend
Author – Marie Lu
Publication Date – April 16th 2013 by Speak
ISBN – 9780142422076

June and Day are from different worlds with no reason for them to cross paths. That is until June’s brother is murdered and Day is the number one suspect.

With a shocking turn of events, June and Day discover what really brought them together and the horrible lengths their government will go to keep its secrets.

I don’t remember why I read this last year. I think Goodreads recommended it because I like Divergent. So I got it from the library and have been hooked ever since. I haven’t finished the trilogy yet, I didn’t like the ending in Prodigy (not because of the story, it’s just sad) and I haven’t wanted to know how the story ends yet. But I’ve decided to reread Legend and Prodigy before I get to Champion so I have more time.

I think Legend is set in the future. Something happened to America and now they 11994336_10155913627105018_1272331397_nhave/live in the Republic. I’m not really sure what happened but there’s still some kind of war going on. I don’t know if I skipped the details in the book or they weren’t in there. I’m not sure how much of the government in the Republic is corrupt or if that’s how it’s always been. The things it’s done to the citizens in the “slums” and with the children who fail the Trials is just disgusting.

June was pretty judgmental at the start of the book. Really into how smart she is and doesn’t seem when she breaks school rules. But I think she had the biggest character development in the book. June has lost her whole family and then meets Day, the boy accused of killing her brother. While on the streets June starts to see what it’s like on the other side of town, the struggle to survive, the hunger and the plague. I think this is when she starts to realise things aren’t always what they seem and not everything she’s been told is the truth.

When Day tells June his suspicions about the plague, she thinks he’s crazy. But then June finds her own evidence and the person who killed her brother. As June’s world comes crashing down around her, she realises there’s only one thing left to do.

June and Day have been raised differently, they come from different worlds, but are so similar. They’re both smart and willing to fight for those they care about. They have a similar way of thinking and are good at solving problems.

I really liked Legend, I liked June and Day. I don’t know a lot of people who’ve read these books, which is a shame because out of the two that I’ve read they’re really good. I think I’ll put Prodigy on my October TBR.

Have you read the Legend Trilogy? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

