Top Ten Tuesday (September 15th): Top Ten Favourite Heroines.

top-ten-tuesdayI’m really enjoying the Top Ten Tuesday’s that The Broke and Bookish come up with. This week is a freebie so I’m going to pick from one of their past Top Ten Tuesdays that I missed.

Harry-Potter-Deathly-Hallows-movie-image

1. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter Series – 
I’ve loved Hermione from the first Harry Potter book. She’s always been my favourite character from the series. Not only is she a huge bookworm but she’s a fighter. She doesn’t wait to be rescued but is smart, talented and definitely the brightest witch of her age. She taught me not to care what other’s think of me as long as I’m true to myself and the things I believe in. If I ever have kids (which I doubt) I’d want my daughter to be like her.

throne-of-glass-series-4-queen-of-shadows-uk-600x907-68792. Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass Series – 
I’ve loved Celaena since I first read Throne of Glass last year. She, like Hermione is a huge bookworm. Celaena has been through a lot and seen some horrible things in her short life but she’s still open to love, happiness and joy. Celaena is willing to fight for her people and those that can’t fight for themselves against a king that’s corrupt and basically a total jerk. I can’t wait to see what she does in Queen of Shadows.

insurgent-720x3203. Tris Prior from the Divergent Trilogy – 
I know a lot of people don’t like Tris but I’ve always loved her. I feel like I’m saying that a lot… Anyway, Tris is smart, loyal, kind, compassionate and pretty badass. She’s made some tough decisions, not all of them the right ones, but when it comes down to it she knows she’s made mistakes. She’s willing to do anything for the people she loves. I don’t know why people don’t like Tris but I think she’s great.

ehezok-viadala-kivalasztott4. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games Trilogy – 
It’s kind of hard for me to choose Tris or Katniss, I love them both the same, so when I put Tris first in this list it’s because she popped into my head first. I was asked once who I thought would win in a fight, Katniss and Peeta or Tris and Tobias, I chose Tris and Tobias. Katniss is badass with a bow and arrow but she’s can’t fight like the other two. Katniss is a reluctant role model. She never wanted to be the reason people rebelled againt the Capitol, all she wanted was to survive the Hunger Games (both times) but once she commits herself to the cause, she’s badass. She’s not good with people, with making friends, and I get that. I don’t like talking to people either.

Linh_Cinder_Portrait5. Cinder Linh from The Lunar Chronicles – 
Cinder popped into my head out of nowhere. I really like her though. She’s not your usual heroine and like Katniss is a reluctant role model. But I think with Cinder it’s because she’s cyborg. I wonder how different she’d be if she didn’t have to hide that part of herself from society. I hate that she has to. Cinder is smart, kind, loving, sarcastic and loyal.

Black_Widow_Avengers6. Natasha Romanov from the Marvel Universe – 
Aww Natasha. She doesn’t get the credit she deserves in the Marvel universe. I love her. She’s a really strong female character in a world of men. She’s such a badass and she gets over looked for the other Avengers. Natasha is hilarious, sarcastic, smart, kick ass and has been through so much. I don’t read the graphic novels but I’ve loved her in every movie I’ve watched her in. I wish she was in more.

Emma Stone filming The Amazing Spider-Man 2 in New York on 17 April.7. Gwen Stacy from The Amazing Spider-Man – 
Gwen is so smart and caring. She never really backed away from Peter when she found out he was Spider-Man. Even knowing the risks that came from being with him, she’s willing to be with him. Gwen is also willing to help Peter to save people, risking her own life. I really liked Gwen. She was one of my favourite character from The Amazing Spider-Man movies.

AnnabethChase8. Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus Series – 
Annabeth is one of my favourite characters from the books Rick Riordan has written. She was definitely my favourite female in the Heroes of Olympus series. Annabeth is much more than what she seems. On the surface she’s smart, really smart (she is Athena’s daughter) but under all her logic and intelligence there’s a fighter. She’s willing to do what’s right, to fight for her friends and save the world, even in the face of horrible odds. She’s not one to give up when there’s a chance of surviving.

tumblr_nc4oglCcBu1rozrego4_12809. Kelsea Raleigh Glynn from The Queen of the Tearling Series – 
Kelsea is the Tearling Queen. She’s nineteen and just inherited a broken kingdom. But that doesn’t stop her from changing things, trying to take what she has and make it better. She was raised in isolation to protect her so she could grow up and take the throne, not be hunted down by her uncle and killed. Kelsea is willing to try anything to save her kingdom from the Red Queen. I can’t wait to see what she does next in the Invasion of the Tearling.

Ruby-Circle10.  Sydney Sage from the Bloodlines Series – 
Sydney is my favourite female character from both the Vampire Academy and Bloodlines Series. She goes through such a huge character development, changing her whole belief system, throughout the Bloodlines series. When confronted with the truth over what she’s been taught her whole life she doesn’t shut down, she fights. In secret at first (for good reasons) but then she fights for good. She’s a human in love with a vampire, which is totally forbidden and as much as she tries to deny it, she’s always drawn to him. Sydney is smart, kind, a freaking witch and one of the best characters from the books.

So there’s my ten favourite heroines. I feel like I’m leaving someone out. I know I thought of someone before but I cannot remember who now. Ugh, so frustrating.

Anyway, who are your favourite heroines? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (September 15th): Top Ten Favourite Heroines.

  1. Great list! Hermione is definitely one of my favorite heroines, and the way you wrote this really makes me want to check out the ones I haven’t read yet – especially Cinder and Thorne of Glass!

    I would add Scout Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird and Lyra from The Golden Compass. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh you should check out Cinder and Throne of Glass, they’re both really good!!
      I haven’t read The Golden Compass (Northern Lights over here) but it’s on my TBR for this month. I recently bought the trilogy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

