Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

Title – These Broken Stars
Authors – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Publication Date – December 1st 2013 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781743318522

When catastrophe strikes the Icarus and it falls out of hyperspace to land on the nearest planet, Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen find themselves the only survivors. Now they seem to be alone on an unknown planet.

Lilac and Tarver are from two different worlds. Lilac’s father is the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, he’s a war hero whose learned that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. They have no hope of a future together where they come from and start to wonder if they’d be happier staying where they are.

Everything changes when they discover the truth surrounding the whispers that have been haunting their walk to get to the Icarus. Lilac and Tarver may be able to find a way home but they won’t be the same people who left.

I didn’t read the back of the book properly when I first picked it up so I didn’t see the part about These Broken Stars being a love story. I think if I had I would’ve thought twice about getting it. But I’m glad I didn’t. This book is so much more than just a love story. There’s mystery, sci-fi elements and exploring different planets.

Lilac’s father sounded like a piece of work. At the start I just thought he was an 12021904_10155935441725018_560259662_noverprotective of Lilac, choosing the people she was allowed to be friends with, but as the story got more complicated he sounded more than just controlling, he sounded manipulative, power-hungry and insanely attached to his daughter. I get that they only have each other but that doesn’t mean Lilac can’t have her own life, a boyfriend or whatever. There’s a reason they only had each other. But her father controls that side of her life too, which made Lilac close herself off from other people, to protect them from what he’d do. Until she meets Tarver.

Lilac and Tarver grow closer as they try to find a way to contact someone to let them know where the Icarus crashed and they’re still alive. They’re also hearing whispers and having weird visions. Why they discover what’s behind them, everything they thought they knew about the world they live in changes. Now there’s a cover up going on and if Tarver is going to survive Lilac’s father, if they get rescued, she has to decide how far she’ll go to protect him.

Lilac grew so much throughout the book. When they first crashed, she was a socialite dressed in a ball gown and high heels. But the only reason they were alive was down to her quick thinking in the escape pod. Finding herself out of her comfort zone, in pain and walking across unknown territory in heels just makes Lilac determined to prove to Tarver, who was trained for this, that she’s not useless and can pull her own weight. I think they saved each others lives more than they thought they would need to.

These Broken Stars has so much going for it. I love the sci-fi mixed with the ‘love story.’ I really liked Lilac and Tarver. I really liked this book. I saw that the next one, This Shattered World, is about two new characters, which threw me off for a bit. Until I looked up what the last book was about. Which I cannot wait to get to. Don’t let the whole ‘love story’ thing put you off, it’s worth the read!

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought in the comments.

– Aimee.

7 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

  1. I own this book but have yet to read it! It’s one of those books I really want to read, but I jsut never pick it up! But since I’ve heard the third book is coming out this year, I need to pick it up soon:) Glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

