The King’s Jewel by Sarena and Sasha Nanua.

Title – The King’s Jewel
Authors – Sarena and Sasha Nanua
Publication Date –ย July 23rd 2013 by iUniverse
ISBN – 978147598795

After the battle on Halloween for the gemstones, Arica finds herself in the Sorcerer’s Underworld – the source of all magic. Soon, Arica realises that the magical world is facing a huge threat, the King’s crown, also known as the Jewel, has been stolen and no one knows who the thief is. ย Then the gemstones are swept up in a magical flood. A flood that seems to be linked to Lembrose.

Now Arica and her cousins have been tasked with retrieving both the gemstones and the Jewel. Their search leads them to the Bermuda Triangle. If Arica wants to go home then she needs to uncover the identity of the thief. But what she doesn’t yet realise is that the thief may be closer to her than she thought possible.

This is the second book in The Pendant Trilogy. I received all three books last month in exchange for honest reviews. I read and reviewed the first book, The Gemstone, last month. You can read my review here.

The King’s Jewel picks up where The Gemstone left off. Arica is in the Sorcerer’s Underworld and she’s bursting with unasked questions. I still have a problem with Arica getting information or having suspicions about people and keeping them from the people she’s meant to be working with. I just don’t understand why she does it, it’s not exactly helpful.

I also don’t understand how Arica and co. just told everyone they met on the Water Train12021950_10155949782225018_1816528939_n what they were doing (with the gemstones and the Jewel) and telling anyone that asks that Arica is the Prophetic Child. I’m not sure why you’d be so open with complete strangers. Like trusting the Sapphires worked out so well.

I actually suspected Joseph of having something to do with the Jewel or gemstones going missing. I just getting a weird feeling about him. I think it’s because he annoys me so much. I just really don’t like him as a character.

The King’s Jewel was a good sequel but I did like The Gemstone more. I’m looking forward to seeing what’s so bad about the emerald Arica messed around with. Why mess with things when you have no idea what they do seems like a stupid thing to do to me. Also, that twist at the end is really interesting. I thought that was Arica’s link with the thief, which is why I thought it might be Joseph. I can’t wait to see how this plays out.

I think I’ll put The Poisoned Emerald on my TBR for October. I really want to find out what’s next for Arica and her cousins.

Have you read these books? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

