Review: Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti.

Title – Zeroes
Authors – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti.
Publication Date – September 23rd 2015 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781925266955
Price – $22.99NZD

Six teenagers with six different abilities have drawn them together but they refuse to call themselves heroes. They’re Zeroes. Ethan, also known as Scam, has a voice inside him that can whatever he wants. Which is great, apart from when it isn’t – especially when ‘the voice’ starts talking during a bank robbery and ends up being more trouble than it’s worth.

When Ethan sends an S.O.S. message to Nate (Bellwether), the groups ‘glorious leader,’ Nate contacts the other Zeroes for a rescue mission. But when things go horribly wrong, the Zeroes find themselves encountering more criminals and dangerous situations. Can the Zeroes put aside all their differences and work as a team to keep everyone safe or will this end in the worst week of their lives?

I was sent a copy of Zeroes to review by Allen and Unwin New Zealand. I’d heard a little about it and thought it sounded good so decided to request a copy.

The story in Zeroes, teenagers with powers, was interesting. Especially as they’re still learning what they can and can’t do with them and realising that some things in life come with a price.

I liked Riley (Flicker), Thibault (Anonymous), Kelsie (Mob) and Chizara (Crash). I’m not 12026691_10155952244995018_1518192533_ngoing to go into their powers, I don’t want to ruin it for you but you can try to figure out
what they can do from their code names. Ethan’s ‘voice’ gets in the way a lot, causing all kinds of messes. I didn’t like Nate. The way he likes to be in control and control others. I know it ties in with his power but that kind of power, along with an inflated ego, can do more harm than good. Especially when people’s free will is taken away from them. I can see Nate turning on the Zeroes, basically commanding them to do whatever he wants. I don’t know what Nate’s “Ultimate Goal” is but it doesn’t like a good thing to me.

“Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely” – The Lord Acton. I think this quote can describe Nate and what he’s capable of.

I was a bit confused with the ending of Zeroes. The story is kind of wrapped up but there are some things still up in the air, like the ‘Ultimate Goal.’ I found out from Allen and Unwin on Facebook that this is going to be a trilogy, I’m really interested to find out where the characters will go in the next book.

So much was going on is this book, all thanks to Ethan’s ‘voice.’ His power confuses me, how it knows so much about people Ethan’s never met. His power is also different from the other Zeroes, whose powers work better in crowds and Ethan’s works better on individuals. I am curious to find out where their powers came from and how they got them.

I’ll definitely be keeping my eyes open for the next book in the trilogy. I liked Zeroes. I’d be interested to find out how much input each author had with the story. If you’re interested in reading about people with powers, then find a copy of Zeroes!

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti.

Leave a Reply

