Review: The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.

Title – The Iron Trial
Authors – Holly Black & Cassandra Clare
Publication Date – September 9th 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN – 9780545522250

For the people who know about the Magisterium they’d do almost anything to get in. But not Callum. Call’s father has told him that he should never trust a magician.

So Call tries his hardest to fail the tests, but he fails at failing. He’s been accepted into the Magisterium. Soon, Call realises the Magisterium has dark ties to his past and complicated ties to his future.

This is the second time I’ve read The Iron Trial. I needed to reread it before I got The Copper Gauntlet from the library.

I’m going to get all my comparisons to Harry Potter out of the way before I get to anything else. I think they need to be acknowledged because there are a few.

So the mages of the Magisterium have an enemy called The Enemy of Death, which is the12048514_10155983640720018_1380812494_n stupidest name for an evil magician ever. The Enemy wanted to live forever, like Voldemort, and conquer death. Instead of Horcruxes The Enemy used chaos magic to corrupt both humans and animals in his experiments to bring his brother back from the dead.

There’s also a trio, two boys and a girl, and an all-knowing Dumbledore-like teacher and a “rich” bully who thinks he’s better than everyone and expects to get things his way all the time, like Draco.

Lastly, there’s a boy who was raised in foster families, ignored and mistreated, who’s thrust into the limelight as the one person that has the power to save them all from The Enemy. Kind of like Harry.

Apart from that the book was good. The magic is so different to most books I’ve read with magic in them. I like that they use the elements.

I completely forgot the twist at the end of the book. I don’t know how that slipped my mind because it was so huge. Well, I pretty much forgot the whole book so it’s not really surprising that I forgot that part too.

I really liked this book. When you get past all the comparisons to Harry it’s a good story. That’s if you can get passed them. I don’t know how many books are going to be in this series but I’m guessing that every year Call, Aaron and Tamara are at the Magisterium will be a different book. But that’s just a guess from the titles. First year is Iron, second is Copper. So it makes sense with The Iron Trial and The Copper Gauntlet.

I’m looking forward to seeing what’s next for Call, Aaron and Tamara in The Copper Gauntlet but I don’t know when it’ll arrive at the library.

If you’ve read this book leave me a comment with what you thought about it.

– Aimee.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.

Leave a Reply

