Top Ten Tuesday (October 6th): Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit.

top-ten-tuesdayI’m really enjoying the Top Ten Tuesday’s that The Broke and Bookish come up with. This weeks one really made me think. I’m going to be doing ten authors I quit reading. I might not be able to come up with a total of ten but we’ll see.

1. Jamie McGuire.
Okay, I’ve only read the one book by her, Beautiful Disaster, but that was it for me. After finishing that book with that disaster of a relationship and male “romantic” character, I was just done. I can’t read books with those kinds of guys being seen as a catch. I know a lot of people don’t see it the same way I do but Travis is a walking disaster and their relationship is all kinds of wrong. The one character in the book who saw it for what it was, was made out to be the crazy one.

2. James Phelan.
I read a few books of his last year and for young adult/junior books they were really badly written. I started a series and normally I finish it before I judge them but I just couldn’t get passed the writing. The way he wrote the books was just childish. It felt like he was aiming for a young audience but at the same time the kids in the book are fighting and dying so I don’t know. Maybe it was just me.

3. Caroline B. Cooney.
I read her Janie books earlier this year and didn’t like them much. But unlike with James Phelan’s books it wasn’t because of the writing. I just found them boring and predictable when the books could’ve been so much more exciting. I don’t think I’ll read a book by her again.

4. Nora Roberts.
I used to read Nora Roberts’s books all the time but then one day I realised it was the same kind of story over and over just told in a different way. I still like that she writes strong female characters but I got bored with them always having drama in their lives and then falling for guys, which adds more drama. I got bored and just sold all my books.

5. Lauren Kate.
I’ve read Lauren’s Fallen series, Teardrop series and another book and didn’t really like any of them. I was gifted Teardrop for Christmas last year by a friend of mine so I feel bad saying I’m not going to read any more of her books but even the next book in the Teardrop series doesn’t have me dying to read it. I feel like I should just give up on them because I haven’t really like the books.

6. Alice Sebold.
I’ve read three books by Alice and didn’t really like any of them so I think I’m just going to stay away from her books. I did make a mistake and watch The Lovely Bones movie before reading the book but I didn’t know it was a book until after I’d seen it so that was ruined for me.

Those are the only authors I could come up with. I felt like adding L.J. Smith and Robert Galbraith to the list but didn’t. I didn’t like L.J. Smith’s The Vampire Diaries books (for the first time I prefer the TV show) but I did like her The Secret Circle and Night World (think that’s what they’re called) books. So I couldn’t add her to the list for one series.

I’ve only read one Robert Galbraith book and it took me forever to get into. I don’t know if it was because I knew it was actually J.K. Rowling and the writing was so wrong for her or not. I haven’t read the sequel, The Silkworm. I was offered the third book, Career of Evil, to review but turned it down because of how long it took me to read The Cuckoo’s Calling and that I would have to read The Silkworm first. I don’t think I’m not going to ever read them, I just think I need to be in the right mood.

So, there’s my Top Ten Tuesday for another week. Even though I could only think of six.

What authors have you stopped reading? Leave me a comment and let me know.

– Aimee.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (October 6th): Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit.

  1. Aww. I was hurt with Alice Sebold. I liked her book The Lovely Bones because I read it first and I have yet to watch the movie. But, I do respect your opinion!

    You are also I think the 3rd book blogger that included Nora Roberts and Lauren Kate. I think I would not love them, too.

    By the way here’s mine: http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-hJ. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t think I like Alice’s writing style. I’ve read three of her books and didn’t really like them much. Especially Almost Moon (if that’s what it’s called).
      I did like Nora Roberts but that was years ago. Now I can’t remember why. Lauren’s books are kind of boring and have annoying characters lol. But I’d never want to make your mind up about an author’s books before you try them.
      I read your list and I’ve only read two books in the Uglies series, the first was good but the second drove me insane. And I enjoy some of Sarah Dessen’s books. I have a copy of Just Listen. I don’t judge an author on one book, unless it goes against things I believe in, like abusive relationships (Jamie McGuire) which is why I’ve read so many books by Lauren Kate even though I find her Fallen series boring.
      Apart from Sarah Dessen and Scott Westerfeld, I’ve never read any of the other books on your list. Or the authors.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for sharing your thoughts Aimee! I think you are right. We cannot really judge an author by reading one of his novel only.

        I have read Uglies and a half of Pretties and just like you, I am not able to take the annoying characters anymore. 😀

        Thank you for the visit!

        Like

      • No problem. I’m not sure I will continue with the Uglies series but I liked the book he wrote with two other authors (I cannot think of their names) called Zeroes. That’s going to a trilogy.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Lauren’s books bore me. All of the Fallen series did but I kept with it because a friend of mine loves it.
      I just read your list. There are a few authors on there where I love their books. Like Marissa Meyer (I love The Lunar Chronicles) and Maggie Stiefvater (I agree about the Mercy Falls books but love The Raven Cycle). I didn’t really like the Matched trilogy but didn’t want to put Allie on the list just for one trilogy. I’ll try Atlantia first.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the comment and for inspiring me to do the post. I seem to be an outlier on a lot of the more popular series which is unfortunate but I’m glad that those authors found their audience. There are plenty of books that I love and I’ve told friends to stick with the books and my friends wind up hating them. Like the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. That’s one of my absolute favorite series and I know a bunch of people who loath it. And that’s cool. As long as we can all get together and squee about books in general, then we’re doing okay. It’s not like any of us (book people) are ever going to have an empty TBR. It’s just a matter of finding the ones that do it for us.

        Like

      • No problem 🙂 I hope you do more Top Ten Tuesdays. I’ve had fun doing them.
        Ah, I’ve only read Uglies and Pretties and couldn’t read any more. All the “pretty-talking” was driving me insane. I don’t know if I’ll finish the series but that hasn’t put me off Scott Westerfeld as an author. Have you read Zeroes?

        Like

Leave a Reply

