Review: Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen.

Title – Someone Like You
Author – Sarah Dessen
Publication Date – 2009 by Hodder Children’s Books
ISBN – 9780340997482

Halley and Scarlett have been best friends for years – they balance each other out. Scarlett is popular and can make friends anywhere, Halley’s the quiet, dependable sidekick.

The Scarlett’s boyfriend dies in an accident and she finds out she’s pregnant with his child. For the first time in their friendship, Scarlett is vulnerable and now depends on Halley for support. But Halley’s having her own problems and their friendship starts to change. Can their friendship survive? Is their bond strong enough to get them through everything they’re facing?

I’ve had mixed reviews with the other Sarah Dessen books I’ve read before Someone Like You. A lot of them seemed to be the same story over and over. I think this and Dreamland are the ones that stand out for me. Not that I’ve read a lot of her books. I’m not saying I haven’t liked other books by Sarah, just that they feel repetitive.

I really liked that Someone Like You was about the friendship between Halley and Scarlett 12087007_10156005924875018_1045427528_nrather than teenage relationships, although there are some of those in the book.

Halley grew up a lot in this book. Her mother is a therapist and has been basically dictating Halley’s life since she was a child. But Halley has finally had enough and their relationship starts to suffer because her mother can’t see what’s she’s doing is pushing her away. I get where Halley was coming from. When I make comments like “this ad annoys me” or “I’m so cold” she’ll come back with “the ad isn’t annoying” like she can tell what does and doesn’t annoy me and “it’s a nice day, not cold at all. Open the window” because obviously she can tell what I’m feeling. My mother’s never done what Halley’s did but it does kind of get annoying, her telling me how I feel about things. I’m glad Halley finally got through to her mother because it would just have gotten worse.

Halley and Scarlett’s friendship was a special one. Scarlett was always the strong one, with Halley leaning on her but when their roles were reversed Halley doesn’t really falter. When Scarlett told her she was pregnant, Halley stepped up as her support person. There were moments where they didn’t see eye to eye but a friendship like that can survive pretty much anything. When you’re going through something like Scarlett, or are really sick (like cancer), you find out who your real friends are, the ones that stick around and support you.

I did say in my October TBR post that I picked up a few Sarah Dessen books from the library and they’re due back in two days. I’m not really in the mood to read any more of them so I think I’m just going to return them. I can always get them out again one day.

What’s your favourite Sarah Dessen book?

– Aimee.

8 thoughts on “Review: Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen.

  1. Hi Aimee,

    I love this review. I am a HUGE fan of Sarah Dessen’s. I just finished Saint Anything, and wrote a review about it if you’d like to check it out: http://www.4-layercake.com/book-review-saint-anything-by-sarah-dessen/#sthash.iTw64xyn.dpbs

    Saint Anything is definitely one of my favorites of hers. Just Listen is also a favorite because it was the first one of hers I read and I was a teen who could relate. I love her writing, and though I’m in my upper 20s now I still feel I can relate to her characters well. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • I think my problem is that her characters are teens, falling in love, sometimes first love and I’m like you, in my upper 20s so I don’t think I can relate to all her books. But I will check out your review on Saint Anything, thanks 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

