Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu.

Title – Prodigy
Author – Marie Lu
Publication Date – January 29th 2013 by Penguin
ISBN – 9780399256769
My Rating – ★★★★

It’s been a week since June and Day escaped Los Angeles and the Republic and are now on the run. After John took Day’s place at his execution the people of the Republic now believe he’s dead and June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Now, they’re turning to the Patriots for help – a rebel group that wants to bring America back. But can June and Day trust the Patriots or are they being used in a game of politics?

I’ve read both Legend and Prodigy once already but I needed to re-read them before I picked up Champion in case I had forgotten things. There was no way I’d forgotten the ending of Prodigy though.

While reading in June’s point of view I realised who she reminds me of, Brennan from IMG_20151108_111458Bones. Just the way she thinks and how she’s not always able to express her emotions in
the right way. June always seems to put her foot in her mouth when she’s talking with Day. I was starting to get annoyed with all her calculations but after a few chapters I just accepted it as part of who June is.

Day is stubborn. The way Tess started to put ideas in his head about June annoyed me. But when it came down to it, he decided to trust June without knowing her reasons. I don’t understand why it took Kaede telling Day the truth for him to realise June was right and he was prejudiced against Anden, blaming him for all the past Elector’s decisions. Not everyone working for the government is corrupt, people try to change things from the inside rather than start a full-blown rebellion to get what they want, risking lives along the way.

I really like both Legend and Prodigy. I can see why this trilogy is always compared to The Hunger Games but they are completely different. In The Hunger Games Trilogy, Katniss is the spark that ignited a rebellion against the Capitol and President Snow but in the Legend Trilogy, June and Day want to try to change things instead of starting a war between the government and the people of the Republic because they can see a better way to help all the people in the Republic. Well, that’s how I saw it anyway. I’ll have to read Champion to find out what happens next, especially to June and Day, but I don’t think I’ll be able to get to it til next month.

Have you read these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu.

  1. I can’t seem to stop seeing this book here and there. It’s popularity and cover had me thinking of all the big time young adult dystopia tales like Hunger Games. Is it wrong to think to think that the series might some day know a movie adaptation? If it hasn’t already happened :O My girlfriend counts on reading the first book really soon, I wonder if she’ll enjoy it as much as you ! Nice review ! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • I think Legend has be optioned for a movie adaptation but I’m not 100% sure. It would be awesome to see it on the big screen.
      It does get compared to The Hunger Games a lot and I actually discovered it on Goodreads two years ago because the site recommended I read it after re-reading The Hunger Games. I think if you love THG you’ll love this. It even says so on the cover of the book 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

