Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

Title – The Knife of Never Letting Go
Author – Patrick Ness
Publication Date – June 5th 2014 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406357981
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Prentisstown is unlike any other town because you can hear everyone’s thoughts in this never-ending Noise. Obviously there’s no privacy or secrets in Prentisstown.

Just one month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd Hewitt comes across a place out in the swamp where it’s completely silent and Todd’s life will never be the same.

I received a copy of The Knife of Never Letting Go from Walker Books Australia and New Zealand in exchange for a review. I’ve only read one book by Patrick Ness before this one and I keep hearing really good things about this trilogy so I wanted to see what all the hype was about.

The synopsis for this book doesn’t do it justice but at the same time I 12212261_10156105496105018_18633254_ndidn’t want to give too much away for the people who haven’t read it yet. So much happens in The Knife of Never Letting Go I don’t even know where to start.

Todd has been raised to believe certain things, not only about the history of Prentisstown but all of New World. When, out of nowhere, he comes across a place where no Noise exists he runs away, freaked out. Back at home, everything starts to unravel and Todd has no choice but to do what he’s told. Todd and his dog, Manchee, are going to do something very unexpected.

I loved Manchee, he was hilarious. Todd was kind of annoying at the start, denying things he was told because they didn’t go with what he was brought up to believe but I can understand why. I think most people would do the same thing. And not knowing what was in that journal for most of the book was slowly driving me nuts.

The language in The Knife of Never Letting Go to me awhile to get used to. Especially some of the more broken English (is that the right way to explain it?) But when you refuse to teach your kids how to read, or are forced not to, it’s going to ruin their language skills. Once I got used to it I really got into the story.

Like I said before, a lot happened in this book. I don’t want to give anything away. I will say that I liked this a lot more than A Monster Calls. I didn’t want to put it down. It’s got everything to keep you wanting more, secrets, lies, hidden agendas, alien-like beings, spaceships and an impending war. What’s not to love?

My copy of A Knife of Never Letting Go has a short story at the end called The New World. It’s in Viola’s point of view and I really enjoyed it. I’m glad it was included in this edition. I’m not sure if it’s in every copy of the book.

I’m really looking forward to reading The Ask and the Answer, when I can get to it. I’m not sure if it’ll be my next read but I hope so.

Have you read the Chaos Walking Trilogy? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought. But no spoilers please 😉

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

  1. Fantastic review, Aimee! I read the Chaos Walking series early this year, and I loved it. I think you’ll really enjoy The Ask and the Answer – though, I say that because it was my favourite book of the whole series. It is slightly different to Knife of Never Letting Go in terms of themes and general ‘feel’, but it’s awesome all the same. I think you’re in for a ride! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

