Top Ten Tuesday (November 24th): Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For –

a-little-bit-swirly-3

We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in New Zealand, unless you’re from America, but I’m still going to do this weeks Top Ten Tuesday anyway.

1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
6358003591553920311115829207_HARRY POTTERI’ve lot count of the times I’ve read this series and even though I know what happens in them, they never get old. These books have given me so much that I can’t even express how thankful I am to them and J.K. Rowling for creating not only this series but one of my favourite female characters, Hermione.

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
9780141199078
I’ve always loved the BBC version on Pride and Prejudice. I used to watch it when I was a kid. So when I was older I got the book and fell in love with that too. I’m thankful for Pride and Prejudice because it opened me up to classics (not that I’ve read a lot) and I’m not sure I would have read any if it wasn’t for this book.

3. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
CoverImageI should say that I’m thankful to the person who recommended this book to me all those years ago because this is the first book by Jodi Picoult that I ever read and now she’s one of my favourite authors.

4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan
Percy Jackson and the OlympiansBefore I read Percy Jackson and the Olympians I’d never read anything about Greek mythology and now I love it. So I’m thankful to both Rick and Percy for opening my world to the Greek Gods and Goddesses.

5. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer
twilight-seriesObviously I’d read the Harry Potter Series before these but until then I’d never read about vampires, shapeshifters or hybrids and I can’t be sure if I’d be a fan of The Vampire Diaries and The Originals if I didn’t fall in love with these books first. Plus, they opened me up to the fantasy genre and now it’s one of my favourite genres to read and I’ll always be thankful to the Twilight Saga for that.

6. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
the-hunger-games-trilogyI’m pretty sure that when I read The Hunger Games trilogy it was the first time I’d ever read something from the dystopian genre. A friend let me borrow her copies of the books and I couldn’t put the first two down. I kind of struggled with Mockingjay a bit but I loved the trilogy. And now I love dystopian worlds. So I think I have to thank both my friend and Suzanne Collins for that.

Those are all I can think of. I have a lot of books that I love but I can’t think of anymore that I’m thankful for.

Aimee.

Leave a Reply

