Review: Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

Title – Their Fractured Light
Authors – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Publication Date – December 1st 2015 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781743319710
RRP – $21.99
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Two years ago, Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen were the only survivors after the Icarus crashed and they’ve been living a double life ever since they were rescued.

One year ago, Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac showed the galaxy what LaRoux Industries had really been doing on Avon by making a broadcast the corruption and experiments.

Now, all four are about to meet two new players in the race to bring down LaRoux Industries for good.

Gideon Marchant is the best hacker in the underworld, also known as the Knave of Hearts, and he’s prepared to take on the best security measures on Corinth to expose what LRI are really doing. Sofia Quinn, a charming con artist, can talk her way into anywhere she wants. When a foiled attempt to get into LRI headquarters forces Sofia and Gideon to rely on each other, they can’t tell who’s playing who, or if they can even trust each other.

With everything on the line, Sofia and Gideon will only succeed if they can team up with the others to take down LRI before their experiments destroy them all.

I received a copy of Their Fractured Light from Allen and Unwin New IMG_20151123_111343Zealand in exchange for an honest review. This is the third and final book in The Starbound Trilogy.

The first half was a little slow for me. I liked getting to know Sofia and
Gideon, but it was still kind of slow. I think around halfway, when Sofia and Gideon met up with Lilac, Tarver, Jubilee and Flynn, that’s when things started to get even more interesting and action-packed. There’s not a lot of fighting but a lot of stuff happens. It’s not that I didn’t like the first half, I was just waiting for all the action. And, I really wanted to knock Sofia and Gideon’s heads together a lot because they were being so stupid. But it all came right in the end.

I completely forgot Sofia was in This Shattered World at first. It took me a few chapters (so embarrassing to admit) until it clicked that she was Flynn’s friend from Avon. I did figure out who Gideon was before it came out though and why he hated LaRoux (I think that makes up for my earlier mind blank). That was such a great twist to the story. I also liked how everyone had a connection to one another in some way. It linked the trilogy in a really great way. Not too over the top with the fate and destiny thing, because free will still played a huge role in the choices they all made to take them down the paths to LRI.

One of my favourite parts of Their Fractured Light was getting to see what the ‘whispers’ went through and how they first ‘met’ all the six main characters in the trilogy.

I really enjoyed this book, actually I enjoyed the whole trilogy. I loved all the characters when I usually have one or two that I don’t like. If you like sci-fi with a bit of romance mixed in, then you’ll love these books. I cannot recommend them enough.

Have you read any of The Starbound Trilogy? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them.

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

  1. I recently finished the first one, and liked it enough to continue the series! I have this gut feeling that I’ll really love the second one. So to hear that the final book is good makes me excited to continue with the series! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

