Review: The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness.

Title – The Ask and the Answer
Author – Patrick Ness
Publication Date – June 5th 2014 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406357998
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Todd and Viola have reached Haven but it wasn’t the haven they were expecting it to be. Now they’ve been separated from each other. Todd is imprisoned and being forced into Mayor Prentiss’s new “order.” Viola has been recovering at a healing house full of women. While she’s being taught as an apprentice a group start bombing the town. The decisions Viola and Todd make next could change them forever.

I received a copy of The Ask and the Answer from Walker Books Australia and New Zealand to review. This is the second book in the Chaos Walking Trilogy. I read and reviewed The Knife of Never Letting Go last month.

I was a little frustrated with Todd in this book. Probably with both Todd IMG_20151127_112236and Viola at one point. I just couldn’t understand why Todd when along with everything Mayor Prentiss had him do, all the horrible things, especially after Viola left. For me, Prentiss is crazy and such a horrible person that I would’ve thought Todd would have done anything to get away from him.

The way Viola and Todd kept doubting each other was so frustrating. Especially after everything they’d been through on their journey to Haven. I guess when you have people in your ear telling you things, and everything points to them being right, it could put doubts in your head. I’m glad they both made their own choices in the end though. Which is what this is all about, having the strength to make your own choices in the face of horrible situations.

Both The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer have been very fast paced and enjoyable books. I couldn’t put either one of them down. I’ll be reading the last book in the trilogy, Monsters of Men, this month.

At the end of The Ask and the Answer there was another short story, this one taking place before the Spackle War thirteen years before the events in the first two books. I’m not sure how it will link into the next book but I’m looking forward to finding out.

Have you read the Chaos Walking Trilogy? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought. Spoiler free though 😉

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness.

  1. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this, Aimee! I’ve read the Chaos Walking trilogy and it’s probably one of my favourite YA trilogies out there! I really like how Ness incorporates these really complex ideas and arguments about war and justice and ‘what’s right’ but does so in a really simple way and without bias too! I really hope you enjoy Monsters of Men… the ending doesn’t disappoint and you’ll love it, I’m sure!
    Great review! I really enjoyed reading it. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

