Review: The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.

Title – The Copper Gauntlet
Authors – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
Publication Date – September 1st 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN – 9780545522281
My Rating – ★★★/5

Callum’s not having the best summer break. He’s back at home with his dad, who suspects he’s an evil magician, and his only friend  is his Chaos-ridden wolf, Havoc.

When Call discovers that his dad may be planning to destroy both him and Havoc he decides to leave. He flees to his friends, Tamara and Aaron, and the Magisterium. But things start to get difficult for Call when it’s discovered that the Alkahest has been stolen (a device that can be used to separate certain magicians from their magic).

Call, Tamara, Aaron and Jasper are searching for the stolen Alkahest and come across very dangerous foes and uncover another dangerous secret.

I read The Iron Trial for the second time earlier this year. I knew The Copper Gauntlet was coming out this year and I couldn’t remember anything that happened so I decided to re-read it before reading this.

At the start of The Copper Gauntlet Callum kept going on about his “Evil IMG_20151130_114119Overlord list” and what he thinks and “Evil Overlord” would do. It really annoyed me. I understand Call wanted to prove to himself that he’s a good person but there are only so many times I can read “Evil Overlord” and not want to hit this fictional character around the back of his head with a really heavy book to get him to stop. It was driving me crazy.

Aside from that, I did actually enjoy this book. Okay, Callum did irritate me a bit through the book but considering what he’s going through I was able to get passed it.

I think I liked this more than The Iron Trial. I kept comparing that to Harry Potter, which didn’t help me like the book, but with this one I didn’t. There was one part where Jasper reminded me of Draco when he was attacked by Buckbeak but that was it.

There was more action in The Copper Gauntlet compared to The Iron Trial. Which makes sense, you’re being introduced to the world in The Iron Trial and how this magic works, there was a lot of time spent moving sand into piles (The Iron Trial) and there were a few lessons in this one but not as dull as the others. Which is why I think I enjoyed it more. Call and his friends went on a mission to find this Alkahest before it can be used to, well I’m not going to say here, but bad things could happen. While on that journey they come across all kinds of weird things and friendships are tested.

I’m still not sure about this series but I did enjoy The Copper Gauntlet and am looking forward to finding out what’s next for Callum, Tamara and Aaron so that seems like a good sign.

Have you read these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.

Leave a Reply

