Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes.

Title – The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author – Stephanie Oakes
Publication Date – June 22nd 2015 by HarperCollins Publishers Australia
ISBN – 9781460750780
My Rating – ★★★★/5

The Kevinian cult took twelve years of Minnow’s life, her family, her ability to trust even her own judgement and other people. And when they found out about her disobedience, they took her hands too.

Now, the prophet of the cult has been killed and the community set on fire. It’s obvious that Minnow knows something about the night it all happened but she’s not saying anything. Minnow is now in juvenile detention, trying to come to terms with her new life out of the community, where everything she grew up hearing has turned out to be lies. As she adjusts to juvie and re-lives the events leading up to the night that changed everything, and FBI agent visits her and suggests making a deal. Minnow now has the chance to get the freedom she always wanted if she’s willing to tell him the secrets of that night.

I received a copy of The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly from Harper Collins IMG_20151215_102026New Zealand to review. I’d heard about this on Bookstagram and it seemed like something I’d like.

At the start of the book Minnow is still coming to terms with her hands being taken from her and the events that lead her to be locked up in a juvenile detention center. While she’s inside, Minnow meets Angel and as they get to know each other Angel starts teaching Minnow about the world. With Angel and the FBI agent, Minnow starts to open herself up to new opportunities and starts to hope that one day she may be able to start her life over.

I loved the friendship that developed between Minnow and Angel. Despite everything she’d been told, she decided to give Angel a chance. I also liked the friendship that developed between Minnow and Jude. Especially after all the things she’d been taught about “Rymanites.” They had this beautiful friendship in the middle of an awful life because even Jude had been through the horrible things in his life.

While reading The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly I was reminded of a cult I’ve seen on TV. The blue dresses and bonnets matched and children getting married (but to each other now old men). I’m not sure if they have anything else in common. I’m always confused when I hear what people believe in these cults. I don’t understand how so many people can be sucked in.

After I finished the book I went to Stephanie’s website and saw that she was inspired by a  Brothers Grimm fairy tale The Handless Maiden. I’ve never read that tale.. I didn’t know it was a re-telling before starting the book (obviously) and now I want to read the original story.

I found the ending of the book came a bit fast for me but I liked it anyway. It’s not an ending with everything wrapped up in a nice bow but I liked it, it was full of possibilities.

I really enjoyed The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly and I couldn’t put it down. The way it revealed Minnow’s past slowly throughout the book had me hooked and reading long into the night.

Have you read this book? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes.

Leave a Reply

