Top Ten Tuesday (January 5th): Top Ten Bookish Resolutions I Have For 2016

a-little-bit-swirly-3I don’t do resolutions. I used to but then I’d forget them and never do them so it was always a waste of my time coming up with any.

However, I have thought of two bookish resolutions for 2016. Let’s see how many more I can come up with.

1. To read the e-Books on my tablet.Β 
I have so many e-Books clogging up my tablet, it’s not even funny. So I’ve decided to either read them or delete them if I’m never going to. I prefer to read from a physical book because I hate having to put my tablet down to charge and having nothing to read. I usually have two books going at the same time when I read an e-Book, one physical and one digital, so when my tablet does need charging I still have something to read.

2. To actually complete a PopSugar Reading Challenge.Β 
My PopSugar Reading Challenge didn’t got that well last year. I started off good and then just got bored with it. I knew there was one challenge I couldn’t do, the one with a book set in my hometown, so I think I just gave up. This year I’m meant to read a book set in my home state but New Zealand doesn’t have states so I might just read a book set in New Zealand because I hardly ever read books set here. I think I’ve read one book set in NZ.

3. To complete my GoodReads challenge.Β 
Last year I was way over my GoodReads challenge so I’m sure I can complete this one too. I set my goal for 85 this year.

4. To read more classics.
I think I said this last year, around Easter, that I wanted to start reading more classics. I even bought some cheap classics in the Easter book sales but never got around to reading them. I received a copy of Great Expectations for my birthday so I really need to start reading the classics that I have. I think my problem is I have high expectations (with them being classics) and the ones I’ve read so far (not including Pride and Prejudice) have all been disappointing. I didn’t like The Wind in the Willows or The Secret Garden. There were characters in both books that dove me insane and just put me off the book completely. I like Little Women though, from what I can remember of it.

5. To read the books that have been sitting unread on my shelves for years.
I have quite a lot of books that have been sitting on my shelves that I’ve never read. So I’ve decided to either read them or unhaul them.

6. To finish off any unfinished series on my shelves (even if the series is completed or not).
Last year I managed to finally finish The Mortal Instruments and the Legend Trilogy. Β Those are the two series that had been sitting unfinished on my shelves for, like two years I think. Now I have, off the top of my head, His Dark Material by Philip Pullman (I’ve read Northern Lights), Anna, Lola and Isla by Stephanie Perkins (I’ve read Anna and the French Kiss), The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray. I probably have more that I can’t think of but you get the idea.

Okay, that’s all I can think of. It was hard to come up with those.

What are your bookish resolutions? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (January 5th): Top Ten Bookish Resolutions I Have For 2016

  1. Have the same 2, 3 and 4 resolutions! HAHA.
    I almost finish the 2015 popsugar challenge but I missed two categories! And I am not a lover of classics, too!

    Good luck on your 2016 reading journey, Aimee!

    Like

    • Ugh, charging my tablet while I’m in the middle of a chapter really drives me nuts. I always try to leave my books at the end of a chapter when I have to put it down so tablet aren’t the best thing for me to read on but I have a lot of e-Books and I don’t want to just delete them with out reading them.
      I am from NZ! Where are you from?

      Like

Leave a Reply

