Review: Demon Road by Derek Landy.

Title – Demon Road
Author – Derek Landy
Publication Date – 2015 by Harper Collins
ISBN – 9780008141233
My Rating – ★★★★/5

| Mighty Ape | Paper Plus | Whitcoulls |

Amber Lamont thought she was a normal sixteen-year-old girl but after a horrible encounter reveals a devastating family secret, Amber is forced to run for her life. In a road trip across America, Amber stumbles across the supernatural that she never knew existed.Red-skinned demons, killer cars, vampire and an undead serial killer – Amber is hurtled from one threat to the next.

I received a copy of Demon Road from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. When I first read the synopsis it reminded me of Supernatural, which I love, so I thought it would be something I’d enjoy reading.

Right from the beginning it was completely different to Supernatural. Yes, there are monsters and Amber is taking a road trip across America but that’s all they have in common.

Amber discovers something about her parents and their friends that has her freaked out and she has no choice but to run away. To save her own life she makes a deal that has her facing all kinds of supernatural forces across the country and discovering what she’s really made of.

To help Amber and keep her alive is the very mysterious Milo Sebastian. Screenshot_2015-12-23-15-16-31-1At first I wasn’t sure what to make of him but the more Amber and Milo travel I started to figure out bits and pieces of his past and his weird connection to that car of his. Although a story that someone told Amber helped with that.

Then there’s Glen, who Amber meets in the woods and is on his own journey to find someone. He really annoyed me at the start but I eventually go used to him.

I really enjoyed Demon Road. Amber and the others encountered so many supernatural creatures that their journey was full of danger and action that it had me reading long into the night. There was so much going on that I forgot my original reasons for wanting to read it and I found myself enjoying the story for what it was.

The second book, Desolation, comes out this year and I am really looking forward to finding out what comes next for Amber and to seeing what other creatures she’ll find this time.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like Demon Road before. It was just so good. If you’re a fan of the supernatural and road trips full of danger then I highly recommend this.

Have you read Demon Road? Leave me a comment and let me know what you though.

*Thank you HarperCollins NZ for sending me a copy to review*

10 thoughts on “Review: Demon Road by Derek Landy.

  1. Demon Road is on my ‘to be read’ list this year. I love Derek Landy and met him a few times on his Skulduggery Pleasant book tours! I’m so happy you enjoyed this book! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

