Review: Sanspell by Elizabeth Pulford.

Title – Sanspell
Author – Elizabeth Pulford
Publication Date – July 2015 by Scholastic
ISBN – 9781775432852
My Rating – ★★★/5

| Mighty Ape | Paper Plus | Whitcoulls |

Armed with only her great-grandfather’s locket, Abigail enters the Silvering Kingdom to save the Bloodtree and it’s stories from a dark force. With the help of Flint and Bramble, Abigail embarks on a dangerous journey. Will she be able to save the Bloodtree before time runs out?

I received a copy of Sanspell from Scholastic New Zealand to review. This is the first book in the Bloodtree Chronicles. I’d never heard of this before I received this copy but I’ve since seen it in my local bookstores.

Sanspell was kind of confusing at the start but as Abigail was also confused I hoped things would be explained and they were, sometimes in riddles. I still have a few unanswered questions which I hope will be explained in the next book.

I was also confused when Abigail turned into Spindale and referred to herself in her CXMP5q6VAAA_5pbmemories as Abigail. This is one thing I hope will be explained a bit more but I did get used to it.

I liked that Sanspell is told in multiple perspectives, which includes the villain of the story. There wasn’t always a way of knowing who’s point of view you’d be in but it never got confusing and it would be really fast to see who was “talking” in the chapters.

Sanspell was easy to follow (after things were explained a bit) and fast paced. I was a little disappointed with the ending, it came out of nowhere. I knew the ending was coming because of the amount of pages I had left but it was kind of abrupt. One moment Spindale is in the middle of things and then next *poof* finished. I haven’t looked at the next book yet but I’m hoping it will pick up where this one left off.

The second book, Bragonsthyme, is already out and I will be picking it up really soon. If it’s anything like Sanspell I’m sure I’ll like it just as much. I also hope to read the third book, Thatchthorpe, when it comes out too.

*Thank you Scholastic NZ for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Sanspell? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Sanspell by Elizabeth Pulford.

Leave a Reply

