Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer.

Title – Thicker Than Water
Author – Brigid Kemmerer
Publication Date – January 5th 2016 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781743318638
RRP – $18.99 NZD
My Rating – ★★★★/5

| Mighty Ape | Book Depository | Paper Plus |

Thomas has never hurt anyone in his life. When his mother is murdered inside their locked house, Thomas is the only suspect. His step-dad is a detective and in their small town where almost everyone thinks he’s guilty there’s no way he can protect Thomas.

The only person who believes Thomas is innocent is Charlotte, she has three older brother, all cops, and her father is also a cop. Which means all of them are dangerous to Thomas. Charlotte knows there’s somethings the police aren’t seeing and she’s determined to find the answers.

But finding the answers could get them both killed.

I received a copy of Thicker Than Water from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I’ve never read a book by Brigid Kemmerer before.

I don’t know what I was expecting when I started this book but it wasn’t this. I kind of CXwbnHOUoAAI4cSthought it would be Thomas and Charlotte trying to figure out what really happened to his mother, maybe finding her killer and falling for each other along the way. That wasn’t even half of it.

I don’t know why I thought Thomas was innocent when everything pointed to him being guilty but I did. I felt like it would be too easy for him to be the killer. I liked Thomas, he was funny. And considering everything he was going through, all the secrets that he discovered, he never gave up.

Charlotte had to put up with a lot too. The way her family treated her like she was a child. Ugh, and her grandmother! I think I would have blown up at them if that was my family. Despite everything she was told by her family about Thomas she obviously saw something in him and chose to go against her family’s wishes and kept seeing him.

I couldn’t believe how many people in that town treated him like a murderer before he’d even been charged. Okay, so it did look bad but innocent until proven guilty right? Apparently not for the people in this town and especially the cops. I think they were worst of all.

I didn’t see on the back of the book that this was a paranormal story so the direction it went in with Thomas’s family really surprised me and it took me awhile to accept it. That was all my fault for not reading the synopsis properly before I started reading it though.

I really enjoyed Thicker Than Water. It was really addictive and I didn’t want to put it down. I did get some of what happened to Thomas’s mother but not all of it before it was revealed. I clicked to who was behind it but not who actually did it. That whole paranormal thing threw me off a bit.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin NZ for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Thicker Than Water? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought?

– Aimee.

 

Leave a Reply

