Review: One by Sarah Crossan.

Title – One
Author – Sarah Crossan
Publication Date – August 27th 2015 by Bloomsbury Childrens
ISBN – 9781408872345
My Rating – ★★★★/5

| Mighty Ape | Book Depository | Paper Plus |

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins and their lives are about to change forever.

Grace and Tippi are no longer able to be home schooled and now have to join school and the outside world – a world full of staring eyes, sneers and cruel words. Will they be able to find real friends?

A heart-wrenching decision needs to be made by both Grace and Tippi – a decision that could tear them apart and one that could change their lives more than they ever imagined.

I’ve seen One a lot on Bookstagram and thought it sounded interesting. I’d never read a book with conjoined twins before so I was glad when I discovered my local library had a copy of it.

I haven’t read many books in verse and the ones I have I wasn’t that keen on. I’m not sure 12483724_10156272419980018_605703396_nif it was the story or the writing in those books but I really liked One and couldn’t put it down. I read this in one sitting.

I found Grace and Tippi’s story really interesting, their bond, their individual personalities and the way they took on the world. Or their little part of the world. Tippi was more outgoing and more vocal than Grace. She was the one that stood up for them both.

It was also interesting to see how they dealt with smoking  and drinking alcohol when only one twin wanted to do it. They obviously share parts of their body so what one ate, drank or smoked would eventually affect them both.

I never thought what kind of toll have conjoined twins would have on a family. Not just for the twins themselves but the parents and other siblings. The states, teasing, medical and financial problems as well as them emotional toll it took on everyone. I can’t imagine the worry and stress that would be involved in giving Grace and Tippi a happy and as normal a life as possible. Their parents were told that they wouldn’t live long too.

Grace and Tippi are joined from the waist down. They have a pretty normal life. The one thing they both understand is that they can never fall in love because it would be too complicated for them. But when they start at school things start to change for Grace when she meets a boy. It must be difficult when hormones start kicking in and you know you can’t really do anything about it because it’s not what your sister would want.

When it comes out that Grace is really sick and medical decisions need to be made for both her and Tippi things get really serious. I’m not going to spoil anything but this would definitely be a hard decision to make.

I really enjoyed One. Like I said before I couldn’t put it down and was pretty much flying through it. It’s not that difficult to read as it’s in verse and this is the best book that I’ve read in verse.

Have you read One? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of it.

– Aimee.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: One by Sarah Crossan.

Leave a Reply

