Review: The Shadowhunter’s Codex by Cassandra Clare & Joshua Lewis.

Title – The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Compiled By – Cassandra Clare & Joshua Lewis
Publication Date – October 31st 2013 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406356250
My Rating – ★★★/5

Mighty Ape | Book Depository |

“Congratulations. You are ready to embark upon the righteous and rewarding life of a shadowhunter. We have been chosen by the angel to keep our world safe from the evil creatures we call ‘demons.’ And now you are one of us and with this book you will learn our lore and our ways. Angels, demons, faeries, vampires, werewolves and warlocks: they all exist and they all must be managed and kept at peace. Welcome to our ranks and study hard. This book could be the difference between life and death.”

I received a copy of The Shadowhunter’s Codex to review from Walker Books Australia and New Zealand. I’ve been in a big Shadowhunter phase lately and I’ve wanted to read this since I first heard of it but never got around to it.

I’m going to get what I didn’t like about this out of the way so I can talk about what I did like. I did find the book a bit boring in parts because it went over a lot of things I’d learned in both The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Another thing which annoyed me was there were a few subjects that came up over and 4over and felt like they were being repeated. Mostly the Mortal Instruments, Silent Brothers, Iron Sisters and Raziel. Even though some of the information was new it was spread across the book so it felt like I was just reading the same thing.

I did like some of the comments from Clary, Jace and Simon. They entertained me while I was reading about some of the things I already knew. I also loved Magnus’s list of why the person reading the Codex was “becoming” a shadowhunter.

Another great part about The Shaowhunter’s Codex was all the art work. I’ve got quite a few post-it notes marking my favourite ones. I was going to share photos of my favourite parts in my review but I changed my mind. I think it will spoil it for those who haven’t read this yet.

I don’t think it was the books fault that I was a bit bored in parts. It was good to read more about the different kinds of demons and some of the Nephelim history but I had read a lot of it already. It is a great part of the Shadowhunter collection though.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia & NZ for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read the Codex? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: The Shadowhunter’s Codex by Cassandra Clare & Joshua Lewis.

Leave a Reply

