January 2016 Book Haul.

CZ7kOwUUEAA-axK

I’m taking a break from reviews for today and probably tomorrow too while I share my January Book Haul and Wrap Up (tomorrow). So, let’s get into it.

1The first book I got in January was Magonia which I received from HarperCollins New Zealand to review.

I’ve already read and reviewed Magonia and you can read that here.

I’m not going to go into it here because I’ve already reviewed the book on my blog. I will say that it did start off slow and it only really got interesting for me at the end of the book but I did end up liking it.

I really want to read the next book to see what’s next for Aza and Jason.

The next book I got I received for my birthday I’ve decided that this year I want to read 2more classics and this will hopefully be one of the classics I read this year.

I did get Great Expectations from the library a few years go but I didn’t get to read it because it had to go back before I got to it.

This is my first Penguin Classic and I love the cover. I did choose this myself as a birthday present. I saw it when I was in Wellington in T2 and decided to use my birthday money to get it. I was going to save it but I just couldn’t resist. I’ve been wanting to start to collecting these editions for a while now.

3The third book I got this month I got through Fly Buys. For those who don’t know what Fly Buys is it’s a rewards program where you get points for shopping in certain stores. When you get enough you can pick rewards from their website and pick them up from the store. All three books in The Lord of the Rings trilogy are on the site and I plan on getting the other two eventually.

I’ve never read LOTR books but I’ve always wanted to. I think I’ll read them when I have the whole trilogy. I’ve read and own The Hobbit. I don’t know when I’ll be getting the other two books because I’m a long way from the 100 points I need for the next book.

4

I received a copy of The Shadowhunter’s Codex from Walker Books Australia and New Zealand to review.

I’ve now read all of The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices (and I want to re-read that trilogy soon) and The Bane Chronicles. I thought it was about time that I read this too.

Now I’m ready for Lady Midnight when that comes out later this year and the bind up of Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy.. Is that what it’s called? I haven’t read any of those stories yet because when I saw they were released I hadn’t finished TMI. Now that I have I think I’ll just wait for the bind up edition to be released to read them all.

You can read my review of The Shadowhunter’s Codex here.

5I received What We Saw and The Siren from HarperCollins New Zealand to review.

I have loved The Selection Series (the ones I’ve read) and I really wanted to see what The Siren was like. I was not disappointed.

I’d seen What We Saw last year on some random website and thought it sounded like something different to read. It’s a horrible subject to read about but I think this book needs to be read.

I’ll be reviewing both books really soon. My next review will be What We Saw.

6

I received a copy of Who’s Afraid? from Hachette New Zealand to review.

This is Maria Lewis’s debut and it’s set in both Scotland and New Zealand and is about the supernatural, but mostly werewolves at this point.

I really enjoyed this. I think it’s my favourite book about werewolves now. I didn’t like the Mercy Falls Series (aside from Cole and Isabelle) by Maggie Stiefvater and I don’t think I’ve read any other books about werewolves. This was much better than the Mercy Falls Series for me. I cannot wait for the next book to come out so I can find out what happened to Tommi and Lorcan. I’ll be reviewing this soon too.

My friend gave me a gift card for my birthday and it took me a long time to decide but I 7finally chose Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel. I’d never head of this before but when I read the synopsis I had to get it.

It’s about a girl (I don’t know her name) who was struck by lightning and had her face burnt off and she’s had a face transplant. Now every time she looks in the mirror all she can see is a stranger.

I think the book follows her as she struggles with her new face and what is next for her. I know she has a boyfriend and he was mentioned in the synopsis but I can’t remember much about him.

I got this because it sounded really interesting and I’ve never read anything like it before.

8

I also received Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. I’d seen this on Bookstagram and when I read the synopsis it reminded me a little of The Infernal Devices.

I’ve already read this and I hope to have my review on my blog soon. I really enjoyed it but aside from the era it’s not much like TID. Yes, there are demons and yes, there is a secret club fighting them but unlike the shadowhunters there aren’t a lot of people who can fight these demons.

I’m not going to say any more, you’ll have to read my review to find out more. Or you could buy the book.

I got Room from a Red Cross book store. It’s not in the best condition but it was only $5 9so I can’t really complain.

I’ve wanted to read this for a few years and now that it’s been adapted into a movie I really want to read the book before seeing the movie.

I’m not sure when I’ll read this yet. I’ve got no plans on seeing the movie any time soon so there’s no rush. Especially now that I have a copy of the book.

I’ve had books sitting on my shelves unread for years so this could be another one. Who knows. I hope not though. I’m really bad at buying books and never reading them.

I received a copy of Glass Sword from Hachette New Zealand to review. When I saw this 10was available to review last year I was to excited when they let me know I’d be sent a copy because I loved Red Queen when I read it last year.

I finished Glass Sword two days ago and even though it hasn’t been released yet I already want the next book.

Right from the start I was so happy to be back in Mare’s world and I really tried to make it last and not just fly through it the way I did Red Queen but that didn’t work. I didn’t want to put it down.

My review of Glass Sword will be on my blog when it’s released in New Zealand.

11

I received a copy of My Sister Rosa from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review.

I’d read the synopsis of this in their monthly book newsletter on their site and really wanted to know what happened. So I requested a copy to review and it arrived this month.

I just finished this an hour ago and Oh. My God. it was insane. It says in the synopsis that Rosa is a psychopath but wow, I really did not see the rest coming and I should have because there were a few hints thrown in the book now that I think about it.

I haven’t written my review of this yet because I haven’t gotten my head around what happened but I will later today and I’ll post it soon. This was so freaking good.

I’ve been in a read-a-long of A Storm of Swords this month with a few other girls on 12Instagram and while we were reading the book we had to do these photo challenges and at the end of each week the host of the read-a-long would chose a winner for her giveaway.

In the second week I won and because I live in New Zealand and she’s in America she decided to send me two mystery books from Book Depository. These arrived last week.

I’m not sure if she knew or she just decided to get the Secret Garden colouring book but I’d wanted this one since it first came out.

I’ve never heard of The Iron King by Maurice Druon but it’s part of a seven book series that was one of the things that inspired George R.R. Martin to write A Game of Thrones. If it’s anything like that then I’m sure I’ll love it.

The last book I got this month was 13Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. A girl I follow on Instagram shared a photo of some books she wanted to swap and this was one of them. She lives in Australia and so she sent me this book and I sent her my copy of The Iron King by Julie Kagawa which I didn’t really like.

Another classic for me to read this year. This one isn’t very long so hopefully it won’t take that long to read it. It’s not in hardback like my copy of Great Expectations but if I like it I may get the hardback edition so they’re the same. I’ll just have to wait and see.

So that’s my January book haul. I didn’t buy that many this month which I’m actually happy about because I’m seriously running out of room now. I think I may have to unhaul some books I don’t like or I’ll never read soon.

What books did you get this month? Leave me a comment and let me know.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “January 2016 Book Haul.

Leave a Reply

