Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass.

Title – The Siren
Author – Kiera Cass
Publication Date – January 28th 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9780008157937
My Rating – ★★★★/5

For many years the Ocean has occasionally saved young women from drowning. To repay Her these young women must serve 100 years and sirens, they will stay  young and beautiful while they use their voices to lure stranger into watery graves. To keep what they are a secret from the world the sirens can never talk around humans and have to be careful about staying in one place too long. Once their years of service are over every siren gets a chance to start over – to live the mortal life that was almost taken from them.

Kahlen has been a siren for 80 years and she’s resigned herself to finishing her sentence in solitude. Until she meets Akinli – handsome, kind and caring – he’s everything Kahlen dreamed of finding once she was free. Although she can’t talk to him, Kahlen and Akinli form a connection.

Falling in love breaks all of the Ocean’s rules and is She finds out Kahlen will be forced to leave Akinli forever. But after a lifetime of always doing what she’s told to do, will Kahlen have the strength to follow her heart?

I received a copy of The Siren to review from HarperCollins New Zealand. I’ve loved Kiera’s Selection Series although I haven’t read The Heir yet. I wanted to wait until The Crown was coming out so I wouldn’t have a long wait for the next book. I’ll definitely be reading it soon though.

I’ve never read a book about sirens before so I found the twist on the myths really CZHvO-FUYAAdJsrinteresting. Sirens in this book aren’t the seductresses of other myths that lure men to their deaths. With out giving anything away I preferred the history of sirens in this book and the reason behind their siren sing even though they are still killing people.

I also like Kahlen and her sisters, Aisling, Elizabeth, Miaka and Padma. They have all come from different backgrounds and completely different but they somehow fit together. Kahlen was the one that struggled the most with what she was what what she did in the service of the Ocean.

I’m not usually one for romance books but there are some authors that always find a way to bring me back to their books and Kiera Cass is one of those authors. I first picked up The Selection years ago because I heard it was going to be made into a TV show and I wanted to read the book first. I’m not sure what happened to the show but thanks to that I fell in love with Maxon and was hooked with these books. I didn’t want to go into The Siren with any expectations because I love her other books but I have to say that I also loved The Siren. It wasn’t always about the relationship between Kahlen and Akinli, like The Selection Series there is more going on in the story than just a romance and that’s what kept me hooked til the end of the book. I needed to know what would happen to Kahlen and Akinli.

I definitely recommend this book to fans of Kiera Cass and for those out there that love a little bit of a love story in their books.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read The Siren? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass.

Leave a Reply

