Review: Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis.

Title – Who’s Afraid?
Author – Maria Lewis
Publication Date – January 12th 2016 by Hachette Australia
ISBN – 9780349411149
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Tommi Grayson has never been a normal girl. Her bright blue hair and barely controlled anger issues have a way of making Tommi stand out. But she’s never come close to guessing who she really is.

After he mother’s death, a devastated Tommi decides to track down the father she’s never known. After travelling from Scotland to New Zealand, she finally learns the truth about her father and her heritage – and it’s a lot more than she expected.

After barely escaping New Zealand alive, Tommi returns to her friends and pretends that everything is normal. But now she’s more aware of all the dangers that lurk secretly out in the world – and what’s worse, something followed her home.

I received a copy of Who’s Afraid? to review from Hachette New Zealand. This is Maria Lewis’s debut novel and the first book is a series.

I hardly ever read books that are set in New Zealand. Even thought Tommi is only there for a couple of chapters (I think) it was nice to be able to read about places I’ve actually visited.

I think the last time I read a book about werewolves was the Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater and I didn’t really like them. The best book in that series was Sinner because it had more Cole and hardly any Sam. Who’s Afraid? was so much better than I was expecting. I don’t have much luck with werewolf stories but I think I’ve finally stumbled across a good one.

Tommi is such a great character. She’s strong, independent, funny and brave. When she CZNHzZRWkAA3h5Gfinds out about her father’s side of the family, things go from an awkward situation to something straight out of a nightmare but Tommi manages to escape and somehow keep her sanity in the face of unbelievable truths.

Then she meets Lorcan, someone who has been sent to guide her. He’s kind of a mystery and seemed angry at the start but as I kept reading I found myself liking him. He seemed like he was keeping something big from Tommi but I wasn’t that something to be what it was.

The characters in this book were all really good. I liked Tommi and Lorcan more because they were in the book more than Mari, Kane and Joss but I still liked the others and wish they were in it a bit more.

The villain in Who’s Afraid? was really disturbing. I have no idea why he felt the way he did about Tommi because it was so many kinds of wrong. I was go happy when she was able to surprise him in the warehouse. The way he treated women was so annoying. If I could have reached into the book and punched him in the face for how he talked to his sister and treated Tommi I would. I can’t stand men like that.

I think this has to be the best werewolf book I’ve read in a long time. It had a lot more going on than a woman finding out about her family and what that means for her and her future. I can’t wait to find out what’s next for Tommi.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis.

Leave a Reply

