Review: Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman.

Title – Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club
Author – Alison Goodman
Publication Date – December 14th 2015 by HarperCollins – AU
ISBN – 9780732296094
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Lady Helen Wrexhall is almost prepared to make her debut at the court of Queen Charlotte and officially step into polite society, ready for marriage. Helen has no idea that, that step will take her the bright lights of Vauxhall Gardens and into the shadows of a hidden world of demonic conspiracies.

Trying to help her come to terms with this hidden world is Lord Carlston, a man with brusque manners and a ruined reputation. He believes Helen has a destiny that’s bigger than ballrooms and marriage opportunities. Helen’s not so sure, especially after she discovers that nothing’s as it seems, including Lord Carlston.

I received a copy of Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. When I first read the synopsis it reminded me of The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, which I loved. I can’t remember much about that trilogy so I couldn’t compare them while I read. Probably a good thing.

I love reading about this time in history but the one thing that always annoys me is how CZhGaL7UcAAy0vVthe women were treated as lesser than men and their property, from father/guardian to their husband. Even though that constantly gets on my nerves I love the manners and how they used to talk to each other.

The myths around demons are different in Lady Helen and the Dark Days club. I enjoyed
reading about a different version of demons. or Deceivers as they’re called in this book. I also liked learning about The Dark Days Club, although I’m not sure they’re that good.

After 400 pages I’m still not sure what to think of Lord Carlston and the Duke of Selburn, they both have good and bad qualities. I usually pick a “side” by the end of the first book with these love triangles but I can’t figure these two out.

Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club is set in London in 1812 and like I said before I love reading books set during this time. I don’t know what it is about this time in history that fascinates me but even when I was a small child I loved watching Gone with the Wind and the BBC mini series of Pride and Prejudice. I’ve never lost my love for either of them but I do still need to read Gone with the Wind.

I’m not sure why but I read the parts that were in Helen’s perspective in Emma Watson’s accent. Bit weird but that’s the voice that came into my head when I started reading.

I really enjoyed Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club and I can’t wait for the next book to see what’s next for Helen.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

